You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Am I Such a Fan of DPOS Blockchains Like STEEM and BitShares?

I feel like STEEM and BitShares need very big marketing campaigns to make everyone realize this.

Also I was never in the BitShares camp before getting on Steemit mainly because I tried to Mine Protoshares back in 2013 and didn't get anything and I was pissed.

But why do you feel that BitShares didn't become the platform that everyone built on? From my understanding couldn't people build applications and launch / fund projects on BitShares?

Or were the tools never put in place for developers to really have much more than the decentralized exchange?

Sort:  

I agree, and that's why I put this post together. People need to realize this, and we just need to keep repeating it until they do.

As to why BitShares hasn't been taken more seriously and used more to launch new projects, I don't really know. All I can think of is that the timing of the cryptocurrency decline in value in 2014 really hurt them and the "self-funded" projects they were doing at the time. When the funds dried up, things failed, and investors (from one point of view) got shafted. Many took their ball and went home, never to come back.

I'd love to know more of the backstory there as some people are still upset at how things went down.

I keep repeating stuff on my new videos as to how Something like Steemit wouldn't be able to run on Ethereum. Every video is a mini Graphene blockchain commercial. Heheheh

That makes sense if the funding dried up. I think a lot of the people who made it through the nuclear winter have been blown away by how much some of these ICOs have raised when they were working for free and waiting for years to hopefully get some capital appreciation on their coins. It's a long time to wait. Hopefully STEEM can keep making headway and EOS can be everything we imagine. I'm actually buying more on Binance right now. I have 111 EOS stuck in transit from HitBTC.....not a good feeling. I just keep buying though. I'm not likely to hit my target with it but as many as I can get is not enough!

Have you taken a look at Tron? The bloody thing went past Billion and @haejin, a great TA on steemit thinks it'll go much higher. I haven't read their whitepaper. They do have the luxury of picking apart STEEM and learning from it. But would they be able to become real competition at least to the level of EOS vs NEO?

I haven't dug real deep on TRON, I got airdropped some in my HitBTC account and I'm letting it sit there. But I will have to look into it more. I have been buying up EOS like crazy but it ran real hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63332.97
ETH 3169.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89