Are Cryptocurrencies overvalued?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

If I think of Cryptocurrencies as real businesses, (as opposed to a tool for gambling, which is probably more accurate), it has been a great way for entrepreneurs to raise capital as opposed to the traditional way of Angel Investors or IPO. From my research, some of those businesses really do have a product or service they are trying to sell/grow/develop.

However when I compared the market capitalization of some of the cryptocurrencies to existing, well-established companies on the stock market, there’s no wonder why experts predict the bubble will burst. For example, Ripple's current market cap is ~$87b USD (Bitcoin is at ~$220b USD), and IBM is $142b USD. IBM has revenue, profit, all sorts of assets, in comparison, Ripple is just starting (well-cashed up for success, no doubt. PS, are they hiring?)

Whilst the share market has its own share (pun intended) of wishful thinkers who are betting on a better future, but the cryptocurrency investors take this to another level! It has been very much a self-fulfilling prophecy, but never underestimate the power of consumer confidence (and greed)! Myself included, of course! (and here I am posting on steemit hoping for $, I can see the cliche).

In other thoughts, with the fragile state of peace and governments all over the world printing money (and diluting the worth of government backed currencies), could cryptocurrency be a more secure future for everyone? Could this actually a real tool for democracy?

Please let me know of your thoughts :) I'd be interested to hear all of them..

Sort:  

#bitcoin
I will probably see it first, how the future

haha thanks for reading! Not a popular post :P I was just curious what everyone thought about the market cap values, I've got my money on Ripple, omiseGO, Walton, Verge, Power Ledger, Iota and Vechain!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69156.99
ETH 3771.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44