The Market Is Green: What Should Be Your Next Move?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

crypto.png

Disclaimer : I am not a financial advisor. Don’t listen to me. You are responsible for your own decisions.

Everything seems to be pointing to a fairly long bull run for the rest of April and the coming months, and that's good news for everybody who's been in crypto and already knows the ropes. If we see something similar to what we saw around this time last year, you could realistically pick virtually any coin and make some amazing gains.

While we don't know the legitimacy of some of the smaller market cap coins out there, and they could possible fade into obscurity in the coming months, I would venture to say that anything you buy in the top 10 is going to be a pretty safe and profitable bet, at least in the coming months. With that being said, where should we put our money?

I previously posted a piece about how I believe that one should be willing to take some bigger risks in crypto, considering being in the market in general poses a risk in general, and if even only one of your dark horse picks makes it big, you could easily outperform the rest of the market. Of course, one should only invest in projects that they think are solid, but I still stand by that belief.

However, I believe that 2018 will be the year where we see a giant step towards mass adoption, and I believe your standard "coinbase coins" will make amazing gains, considering these will likely be what people who are new to the market will buy.

Earlier in 2018, I made a poll on Twitter asking which coin would make the biggest gains: Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash, Ethereum, or Litecoin. I, along with about 70% of the people polled, voted for Litecoin.

If we think about the general attitude of newer investors, this would make a lot of sense. Litecoin has the lowest market cap of all of these coins, has the cheapest price per coin, and will allow newer investors to feel like they're coming in early. While I believe Bitcoin Cash currently has the best payment utility, there is a general resentment against Bitcoin Cash, which could potentially be problematic.

However, after doing some more research about Bitcoin Cash, doing some price analysis, and actually giving it a chance, I thought maybe BCH could outperform the rest of these top coins. Unfortunately, I let the crypto community influence my decision, and never even thought for myself on whether or not it could be a good investment.

Ultimately, whether I actually liked BCH cash or not, I thought newer investors would flock to it. That led me to write my article about how I liked BCH in terms of it's price now vs where it should be. Since I wrote that article, which was only earlier in the month, the price has skyrocketed from about $650 to almost $1500.

While this pick is fine for my prediction reputation, what does that mean for my Litecoin pick? Also, is BCH still a better buy than Litecoin after these recent price increases?

Of course, these are just my opinions, but this is what I think: I still stand by all my picks. This means that a) I think LTC will outperform the rest of these major coins in 2018, b) While BCH was obviously the better short term pick, and still will likely outperform the rest in the near future, I still think LTC is the better medium term buy and c) Ethereum is still the most valuable coin in my eyes, but I doubt the market will agree, at least in the near future.

One interesting note is that I have invested in an Ethereum future that, at this price, is basically discounted ETH. Considering it is a controversial project and it operates through a smart contract, which I am not qualified to check, I will refrain from bringing it up to protect investors. The reason I bring it up, however, is that I will likely not be investing in ETH unless I do it in this fashion. If enough people show interest, I might mention this project, but just know I do not necessarily endorse this project if I do ever mention it by name in the future.

Finally, I don't really think Bitcoin will do well relative to the rest of the market, and I don't think new investors would be thrilled with it in its current state. Ultimately, among all of these coins, I believe BCH is the best short term investment, LTC the best medium, and ETH the best long term. I will not be investing in BTC any time soon.

Of course, pick what you believe in, as I think it's hard to go wrong during times like these.

It's alt season.

Sort:  

I think now is the time to buy or hold and prepare to sell. I would sell steem at $10 or above.

Thanks for sharing your opinion bro ❤️ @cooperdoran

BCH is suported by all BTC whales,so it will probably go up.

It will definitely go up, the question is how much relative to the competition?

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📈 24h📈 7d
BCHBitcoin Cash1387.520$3.94%30.87%
BTCBitcoin9228.130$4.06%9.04%
ETHEthereum672.309$6.19%14.91%
LTCLitecoin150.654$3.01%0.96%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56