You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Altcoin Opportunity While All Eyes Are On Bitcoin

Hope you all enjoyed the post. Moving forward with this account, I'd like to start producing more high quality content that come with corresponding articles (what you see above is a short description, not a fleshed out article). When I write articles, I am forced to cite more of my sources, find more charts and quotes to support my statements, and find outside examples that are relevant to a particular situation. In the end, it results in content that is much more robust and stands the test of time. Not only that, but it provides more value for the audience too.

There are many unanswered questions in this field from the investing side, and it seems Chris Burniske is one of the only people taking a serious stab at it while also sharing his thoughts with the public. Aswath Damodaran has also made some attempts, but it is not his main focus which is unfortunate as his contributions to the field would be excellent (he's a valuation guru from traditional finance world).

There are many detailed pieces out there on cryptocurrencies, but many struggle to fuse the tech with finance because most people only have experience in one field or the other. Most people who only know finance are horrible at understanding tech and even more people who know tech are horrible at understanding finance because it requires an entirely different mindset (literally the other half of your brain). Admittedly, my strong suit is finance.

However, I continue to devote more and more hours to tech because it IS important for understanding future potential from an investing perspective. Right now, very little tech knowledge matters because cryptocurrencies aren't valued based on reality in my opinion. But at some point they will be, and it will become much more relevant. At this point, it is exceptionally important at understanding risk factors. It also helps identify problems that will heat up in future which will ultimately have an effect on price.

All of this is to say (since I am getting long-winded here) that I hope you stick around because I would like to start delving into these topics more (still with the primary focus being on investing). I'll still do market updates because let's be honest, we're here to make money. But some day, this won't all be roses and knowledge is the best way to prepare for that day. Thanks for watching as always!

Sort:  

I really enjoy getting your perspective on cryptos. I will do my best to comment and share my knowledge.

I'm personally not a big fan of ETH, if you are to research the technicals of an alt I would look into EOS which is a more foundational version of what Steem was built on.

Disclaimer; I'm somewhat invested in EOS, but mainly in BTC and STEEM.

The core difference between EOS and ETH is that ETH use a gas model for capacity allocation (like Bitcoin fees) while EOS uses an ownership model where for example ownership of 1% of the tokens would equal 1% of the network capacity. There are other major difference in terms of governance and capacity coming from the use of Delegated Proof of Stake (DPOS) vs POW.
Given there are already 100s of working apps built on top of the Steem blockchain (almost a new one everyday) I have no doubt that a similar technology built from the ground up with governance, scalability and generalization will thrive with web developers building apps that see mainstream usage.

I believe ETH is fundamentally broken, not a single meaningful working dApp yet build on it apart from ERC20 contracts (ICO tokens) but ETH benefit from having a huge network effect / hype. That's why I'm so torn between investing in STEEM or EOS because given Steem current rate of ecosystem development and it's social nature it could grow a very powerful network effect while EOS will EVENTUALLY have better tech. (launch of network in about 8 months).

He're one of the first video explaining EOS

Awesome! Looking forward!

What do you think about Reddcoin chance of mooning?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59