Testing out the Substratum Open Beta

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Hello Steemians! Substratum released their open beta on 11th May, but the earlier versions of the beta Substratum nodes did not work for me as I was using Windows 10. It is only on the most recent version, 0.3.2, that I finally get to test it successfully. Before I walk through the beta test, you might be asking, what is Substratum? Substratum is a platform which is currently being developed. Their aim is to create a decentralized internet without censorship. To quote their mission statement:

Substratum is developing an open-source foundation for the decentralized web, providing free, unrestricted, and uncensored access to content for a new Web 3.0

The Substratum team provided a one-liner explanation of what their project is about,

The Substratum Network is a worldwide collection of nodes that uses industry-leading cryptography to deliver secure content anywhere, all without the need for VPNs or Tor.

Essentially, Substratum functions a little like Tor, allowing users to access the internet through the nodes in the Substratum network. The key difference between Substratum and Tor is that users are incentivized by the native cryptocurrency, $SUB. In this early beta release, the node is capable of routing traffic inwards through the local node. In the upcoming 0.4.0 release, the "Neighborhoods" feature will be released. With that feature, users will be able to route through other nodes to access the internet without censorship 😎. To learn more about the project, do check out the mini-documentary below:

Line Big Steem Blue Divider.png

Open beta testing

To conduct the beta test, head over to https://substratum.net/open-beta/ and download the suitable Substratum beta node package for your operating system. Install the downloaded package.

Once installed, launch the "SubstratumNode" executable and you should see the following window,

Before you switch it on, I will like you to do a ping to one of your favorite site. For demonstration purposes, I am using "substratum.net".

Notice that when you ping the site now, it is resolving to a proper IP address. I did a further test with WireShark and I can see that the traffic is routed to my configured CloudFlare DNS.

Flip the 2 switches on, and do a ping on your favorite site again. This time round, it should resolve to your local loopback address (127.0.0.1).

This shows that your traffic is now routing inwards through the Substratum node. By checking my WireShark again, I noticed that the DNS queries are now sent to Google DNS. This should have been pre-configured by the Substratum team in this beta node.

If you head over to your adaptor settings -> IPv4 properties, you will find that your DNS server is now set to 127.0.0.1.

Now, browse your favorite website with a web browser. Does it load successfully? If it does, then Substratum node is working fine on your PC!

Line Big Steem Blue Divider.png

What do you think about a decentralized internet? Do you think it is the solution to provide a neutral and censorship-free internet? Thanks for reading.

GENERIC_banner.gif

Sort:  

I read you can make income (SUB) from running a node, any info on when this could happen?

According to them, the earning mechanism will be ready with beta 0.5.0 release. Before that, they will need to release the "neighborhood" feature in 0.4.0 first.

great! thanks for the info, This will be huge I think. The tor network has been slow and abused so people need incentive to help build a stronger network. Maybe this will be the way.

@culgin great update and tutorial on Substratum's open beta. This is a good fundamental reason to accumulate more $SUB. On a price basis...

subbtc_20180608.jpg

(1) Rebounded from 0.746 Fibo level (0.000051 btc/sub) previously. Now approaching that level again.

(2) Volume for last 6 weeks have reached levels (perharps even higher) previously seen in the Dec-Jan rally.

Good time to accumulate between 0.000046-0.000052 btc/sub, if you believe in Substatum's long term potential.

Haha.. thanks for sharing the TA! At this level, I am always accumulating bit by bit.

I'm hodling a bag of SUB since a long time..
Wish I had more fiat to accumulate some more.

Interesting! But still do not understand it enough to try anything just yet. Will watch out and learn more first. :-)

@quotes-haven, it is still very early. This beta is just a proof-of-concept and when their full product is ready, it should be quite user-friendly.

Ah great! That's what I thought too. Cheers!

Substratum ftw.! Hodling since a long long time haha
I have suggested it in my posts as well - I think, one or two times.
Sub is great.
Thx for the tutorial bro, I might give it a try on the weekend. Right now I am too busy (and tired).

Haha.. thanks for reading bro! Yes I am also a HODLer since I started crypto trading. It is still one of the most promising projects in the market.

Awesome!!! I didn't know there beta went live! Love this project and I love to hear of other people that were early adopters! I think a decentralized internet is what the future will bring. I also think the idea of a decentralized internet scares the shit out of massive tech giants that have control of all of it!

I will have to check it out and see if I can get the node to launch!

Thanks for sharing! :)

One of the funniest shows on earth! They had the right idea about a decentralized internet too! haha

Deare annemariemay,
Firstly, Sub ftw.! Definitely got potential - hodl4life. Although Idk if a decentralized internet alone is the solution. However, it absolutely can be useful my friend. I am curious too what future will bring.
Secondly, lmao, that gif.
Yours truly, Gandalf The White

It may not be the only solution, you are right, but it is a start! I am in it for the long term!
hahaha glad you enjoyed it! haha

True that. Yes, absolutely, long term ftw.
Haha

You are welcome! A decentralized internet will also make personal VPN obsolete. Looking forward to that day. Haha..

And LOL to that GIF!

Truth! The next few years will be crazy!! haha

And thanks, it made me laugh when I posted it haha

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86