F**king Crypto Experts 🤡

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

clown experts.jpg

Investing in Crypto is clearly a thing right now.

The movement is unstoppable which is great for the people. Too long have the greedy bankers and governments benefited from the people.

What annoys me is the repetitive nonsense from self-proclaimed experts. It's damaging to people that lack experience.

Some of these clown experts have huge followings. They are real influencers. But It's damaging to the whole community when they talk nonsense or promote coins that they have an affiliation with.

I don't want people to lose their savings because [insert clown influencer here] said so.

Investing in Crypto doesn't have to be difficult, I have learned a lot over the last five years trading. The key is to keep your emotions out of investing.

So to see the people getting into Crypto has it's positives and negatives.

Positives

  • Giving you control of your finances
  • Creating Wealth
  • Changing the future
  • Being part of a movement
  • Privacy

Negatives

  • False sense of worth (meaning, until you spend those coins they are worthless). Ok, I think I need to expand on this. Example, you invest $100, and one week later it's $1000. You need to take that profit out, remove it to something like Tether or just convert FIAT to pay your bills. Otherwise, it could go down to $100 in a heartbeat, and you are back where you started.
  • Pump and dump artists
  • So-called experts on YouTube are punting any old shit coin to inexperienced people.

I know there are lots more positives and negatives, but I don't want this to be a massive post.

What does the future hold for Crypto?

It can go so many ways. In my opinion, Crypto will continue to grow and take money from traditional monetary systems. Then we will see things settle down. This could happen in 1 year, could be 5 years. I'm no oracle.

What I've realised with most things. When the older generation warm to things like Bitcoin, it's time to diversify. I know that seems like a sweeping statement. However, this is true 80% of the time in my experience.

The fact you are here reading this on Steem says something about you. YOU are an early adopter. YOU are part of the movement ✊🏻

So yes more people will join the revolution, just be cautious with your portfolio.

Don't get greedy.
Take some profits.
And enjoy the journey.

Keep it real
Derek

If you like my posts, please consider upvoting and commenting. I always reply and upvote comments. This is what Steemit is about and the way our community grows. Thanks for the continued support.

Sort:  

I like your advice here... don't be too greedy, take some profits and just enjoy the journey.
There are a lot of crypto experts right now, they are all over YouTube, and those that talk the loudest are the most clueless

Thanks @arnel
YES exactly, YouTube is a wash with them.

Nice post and very sensible advice [Don't get greedy take some profits] this is the advice a gave myself when i played poker and it served me well and trust me im no poker expert but i made a lot more than others who were much more talented than me.Sometimes i think its just best to keep things as simple as possible and stick to your strengths

You are bang on mate! Keeping things simple is always a great idea.

Seems like you speak from experience. Had a friend email me today saying that he keeps listening to the wrong hype and letting FUD get to him. He invested $8,000 3 months ago and his portfolio is worth $8,042 today. In this game, that's terrible.

Good advice man, keep it up . You got a follow.

Thanks mate, yeah I hear too many stories like this. Innocent people are the people that should be protected not taken advantage of. Thanks for the follow, i've followed you back :)

Smart investments are needed. Do your own research and due diligence. Yet, everyone wants to jump in straight away - some kind of 'pump and dump'. Those strategies can work on 'joke' coins, so someone can make some cash. But, when it happens to coins that have a purpose it isn't funny. It has happened to Steem Dollars (SBD) only last year.
The markets are down today, but we are not worried. Hopefully, it will take out some of those who are not in here for the long-term.

Smart is the key. I think most invest on gut feeling. Like you say, do your own research and due diligence.
Markets have been a bit quieter since the festive period i've noticed only a few coins really jumping out. I'm sitting paitently.

My goodness, someone upvoted you big time. Six votes and your post has gathered you $18.16 (at the time of posting). Your advice is sensible, for sure. If you don't cash in occasionally, the value of your coins is just numbers. That said, charges for transactions are pretty bloody high at the moment.

You're right, Bitcoin transactions can be a bit of a joke, espectially when there's a lot of movement. I feel this is possibly one of the reasons that other coins have gathered more momentum. People want speedy low cost transactions.

Great article , these days I have coins I go long on then there are some that I just set targets , once they are reached I take profit and leave in peace.

Thanks. You just need to do what you feel confortable with. Everyone will have their own strategy, all the best with your trades :)

When I look at your post is very interesting and useful.
The proof of many people who upvote your post.

As long as it was useful to you :)

Agree with you! This is the time to buy :D.

:) I'm confident about Steems future. Going from strength to strengh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61374.19
ETH 2885.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55