The Coin That Got Away

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

If you've been investing in crypto for a while, I'm sure you also have this- the one coin that got away.



Image Source

It may be an ICO coin or token, or something bought at a very low price and was sold too soon. It may be a currency you were eyeing to buy, but never got around to actually buying. Or it may be a coin you actually bought, but somehow cannot access, private keys lost, ledger nano missing, wallet in an inaccessible place.

We can have the tendency to hold on to the thought of this one perfect coin that could have made a world of difference.

We think we've moved on, but from time to time this coin will cross our minds when we least expect it. We again go back to our "what if's" and "if only's". We fantasize of a seemingly perfect future had we made a different call.

What were we thinking selling too early? Why didn't I keep multiple copies of the private key? Why did I ever use a hard wallet anyway? Is it too late to buy back this coin?

We are nothing short of romanticizing the coin. The one coin that got away.

We forget that these thoughts, these emotions, are after the fact.

Whenever we have the urge to look back with longing on the coin that got away, we may also want to remind ourselves of the reason why we let go, or perhaps didn't take the leap of faith and got it, in the first place.

Had the coin moved the other way, as I'm sure many of the other coins you once held did, would you be having the same feelings? Of course not! Again, the regrets felt are after the fact that the coin moved up.

I'm pretty sure it was a rational call. A FUD maybe, a huge sell wall, a different promising coin, these are but some of the reasons that may have gotten us into thinking- better secure a comfortable gain now than risk being in a losing position.

And this is ok. I have recently had an appreciation to having an ACTUAL comfortable gain now, than an IDEA of a mindblowing one in the future.

I've heard and read this frequently from many seasoned investors and traders- Your mental and emotional health is just as important as your portfolio. Past decisions that we classify in our minds as bad ones, can actually have a negative impact in making us be better in our trades.

So don't cry over spilled milk, even if it is chocolate milk.


Follow @bayanihan to see the amazing work of PH talents!

If you would like to support initiatives on community building and enrichment, kindly check out @steemph, @steemph.cebu, @steemph.iligan, @steemph.davao and @steemph.manila

Consider casting your witness votes for @precise, @steemgigs @cloh76.witness and @ausbitbank who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Type in the box the witness account, example below for @precise



dreamielygif.gif




Sort:  

Hahahaha.. Relate! Emotion is really a traders enemy. I also got a nice qoute from one of my co-worker about selling too early. He always tell me “The trend is your friend, until the end when it bends.”

Good quote! Haha. But one can't help but be anxious and always check blockfolio which reminds me lemme check mine first, am back, so as i was saying we cant help but check on our investment and a drastic market move affects us, oops lemme check my folio...

Hahaha and then you sell when it is low and regret when it goes back up. 😂😂😂

Thanks! My opinion has always been it is better to take some carefully considered risks and make some mistakes than not take any risks at all!

carefully considered risk - this is a nice way to phrase it! :)

I have so many of these. Can't live in the past though. In the crazy world of crypto you'll drive yourself nuts looking backward.

True, have so many too! And there are so many coins out there to dive into again (and regret after) haha!

NEM is the one that got away for me. It was 2 cents for years....$1.50 today.

2 cents!!! Eeeek! I was looking into buying NEM May last year. But I didn't. Haha

@dreamiely, this is a nice post.. Thks for itnm ive upvoted and followed u.. Pls do same.. Will also resteemit

Thanks Michael!

u are very welcome miss/mrs. but i will need your help on cryptocurrency teaching. i get confused on issues that it has to do with @dreamiely

Sleeping when it hit 2453% gains!!!

Say this repeatedly when it happens again-
One needs sleep, one needs sleep, sone needs sleep...

I love it! That´s why I recently wrote an article about gratitude as a remedy for FOMO. This is what we all can learn in the cryptoworld: to be not only more grateful, but also humble about our gains (even if they are "only" in wisdom). I promised some weeks ago to myself, that I will buy and hodl SUB and not sell, before it reaches at least $20 - this may happen by the end of the year or only next year, but by then I will have beat FOMO, which is the biggest victory of all! <3

Had my niece join the SUB ico. She's still hodling and is CRAZY up.

A very motivating post. Helped me alot not to lose hope on investing on cryptocurrency. I recently joined steemit. My few first post didn't go well then one of post hit the top, few weeks after I went back earning cents again. Thank you for this. Will make better post next time.

Cents are still money and far better than not posting and earn ZERO

Following you.

I love your prespective! With this attitude I'm sure you'll thrive in anything you do. Best of luck with your steemit journey also ^_^

Yes, mahirap kalimutan ang Bitcoin noong dollar worth pa lang. :P

Haha move on move on din mem hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62780.02
ETH 2945.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62