Get paid while you wait

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago (edited)

         Most people are not traders. This applies to anything from stocks to crypto. The idea of hodling, while meme-tastic, isn't always the best approach in a volatile space. One of the best things I have done was listening to a trader friend last year. He had advised me to sell some off my crypto around June last year and use those proceeds to buy back at a lower price.

         Being the novice I was (I still am), I did not capture the most optimal price. But, I managed to almost double the stake I sold with the same amount of money. On top of that, it was also a nice write off for capital loss.

         What if you are afraid of making drastic moves and wind up losing more than you were already losing? The good news is, there are other assets that offer you "dividends" for holding.

wait.png

Note: SteemLeo Discord is a great place to discuss your ventures. Please note that nothing people discuss in there is financial advice.

         There are several crypto assets that pay you for hodling. One of such is XLM (Lumens) of the Stellar network. In this case, you would have to join a inflation pool. The details about inflation is on the Stellar website.

         One of such pools is the Lumenaut Pool. They do not charge you a fee for joining and they give you detailed instructions on their web page. Here is the link: https://pool.lumenaut.net/#join

         Many of you might get to step 9 and wonder if the risk is worth the reward. In fact, that was what kept me from joining a pool for a long time.

safe.png

         Reading a bit further, you will notice that you could sign with your Ledger device. That is much safer than entering your secret key directly into a website. If you still feel paranoid, try using a spare hardware wallet with only XLM on it.

         The amount of inflation you receive should approximate to 1% a year worth of Lumens. The network pays out weekly, so a stash of 10000 XLM would yield almost 2 coins each time. That doesn't seem like a lot, but it's still 2 more you would otherwise not have.

         XLM trades at around $0.07 at time of this writing. Its all-time high was about $0.93 back in January of 2018.

         Projects that pay you "dividends", "inflations", etc. can be beneficial to your portfolio. It is similar to holding good dividend stocks. Whether they pan out or not, well, time will tell.

         In the meantime, don't be afraid to diversify and seek real financial advice.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

I don't trade crypto but I do trade stocks. I pretty actively update my stop losses to minimise losses. I guess for past years this worked out but for this year the volatility had negative consequences on the overal game I am playing :(

That is something to think about. Right now is either a great time to buy stocks, or better to divert money into precious metals.

I was hedging my position with the us state oil fund but with the devaluation of the Yuan, everything went south. I think I will close everything and just be happy with just beating inflation.

I think VIX isn't a bad idea for peeps who love trading volatility :P

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not good at that the volatility thing, so I will pass.

The oil stocks prices are down, but the dividends are still great.

freebitco.in (shameless referral link) also offers a 4.08% interest rate on BTC held in their faucet wallet. I wouldn't advise putting all your eggs in one basket since you don't control the keys, but so far this wallet has been honest, open, and functional while others have all fallen by the wayside. I get around 500 Satoshis per day to HODL.

Yeah, I don't put my coins in a place where I don't control the keys. I know they have been honest, hence the oldest running faucet service. But, sometimes, it doesn't have to be a malicious act to cause you grief.

But yeah, I have used them for a while. It's been good getting out some 30K Sats every now and then.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31