From rags to riches 10: The dust settles with no significant gains, change of strategy

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago


This is a part of my blog for my journey from £300 to £60000 through cryptocurrency investments. For an introduction take a look here

Now that the craziness with Segwit2x has stopped it is time to check how my portfolio is doing.

So there is generally an upward movement the last few days in a lot of alt coins but there are no gains significant enough on any of my coins that would justify me selling any of them. I set a goal of at least 4x the price I bought them and no coin has achieved that. It seems that the closest to this at the moment is Cindicator although I am not entirely sure that the value that I get through Cryptocompare is the correct one since Cryptomarket is reporting other values. It doesn’t really matter at this point since it is around 2x a great distance from my target.

Here are how my holdings are looking at the moment:

BMC - Initial Value: £154.04 Current Value: £92.05 Profit/Loss: £ -61.99 Change: -40.24%

CND - Initial Value: £177.06 Current Value: £403.19 Profit/Loss: £ 226.13 Change: 127.72%

RPX - Initial Value: £208.17 Current Value: £359.52 Profit/Loss: £ 151.35 Change: 72.7%

I am a bit disappointed that I missed some other good ICOs like Electroneum which at some point it was selling at more than 10x of the ICO price. Moreover just because I decided not to invest in any more coins I missed some good opportunities during the Segwit2x period when alt coins were dropping.

As I already said in previous posts I am thinking my strategy and I decided that I would change the rules a bit. The plan I have at the moment doesn’t give me much flexibility and I am losing money by sitting around watching and not investing. So I decided to add another £200 in my gambling portfolio. My strategy with those would be to pick alt coins (either from ICOs or coins that are already out there and in my opinion are undervalued) and sell them as soon as they reach any significant gains probably more than 2x but this would not be a hard rule. Sometimes I would sell even with smaller gains depending on the sentiment at the moment. This would be a variation of day trading but with bigger gaps between moves and with one coin at a time.

I have various targets at the moment but haven’t decided yet. I am looking in Spectre for ICO and coins like Distric0x and NoLimitCoin that are already out. I am still thinking with which one to go so if you have any good suggestions I would love to hear them.

Disclaimer: I do not provide personal investment advice and I am not a qualified licensed investment advisor. I am an amateur investor.

Sort:  

thanks for info dear

Look into Modum. A little birdie has told me it's about to moon. Already seen 20% increase in two days. People are saying it could get around $5 by end of November. Good coin that deals with IoT tech.
Also Raiden Token I bought at ICO and made 4x off of it. If it goes below $2 any time I'd pick it up again. It could make you a nice little profit.

Good luck. Enjoying this series :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75