Genesis cloud mining not a scam but...😐

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

gpu-mining.jpg

If you are reading this you must be feeling a little late to the party with all this ICO's and crypto boom in general, and you are considering mining to be a good investment. The cryptocompare.com and their calculator must have promised you to get your money back in 4-5 months, here you are thinking to mine by yourself or cloud mine.

Genesis cloud mining
Genesis is a great company that does mining for you somewhere in Iceland thanks to cold climate and cheap electricity at 0.01$ per kWh. Genesis also has a great customer support which I used to ask few questions.
However the actual problem is not Genesis, but the mining itself.

I started mining Eth on Genesis in the beginning of June by investing 10k(they can give you discount if you let them know you are investing around this sum), I was kind f skeptical until I received my first transaction from them in about 2 weeks time, so everything is fine with their legitimacy, however that's not the point I want to make.

First I started mining I was getting 0.26 Eth a day and now I'm getting only 0.14 on average. So the rate at which the return is falling is just crazy, and a 2 year contract seems to be very reasonable because mining as a source of income might be dead by that time.

Good thing is that your plan is flexible and you may switch to other currencies that become more profitable to mine, to me this is very important as it reduces risks and may keep you floating if Ethereum won't be PoW anymore.

If you still plan to invest in mining I wouldn't trust any other cloud mining companies even though they may offer a higher return as they may actually be scammers.

Let me know if you'd like to hear about my experience with building mining rigs, which is much harder than those guides tell you tbh, or my overview on mining.

follow as I'll be posting more useful content which may save you some time or money. thanks and good luck🙃

Sort:  

I am using genesis mining and it is a way to earn in crypto. I see my earning everyday
Good post.
Keep on steemit.

For your information, Iceland has cheap power because of hot springs not because of cold climate.

Another thing: your daily income declines because of difficulty, not scam. Increase in difficulty will eventually increase price.

You are right but, I'm suggesting cold climate and cheap electricity as two different factors why they have chosen Iceland to set their mining farm.

Another thing: difficulty increases therefore my return falls, I'm aware of that and I'm not blaming Genesis, I didn't say a word about it being a scam.

I signed a contract with them today. Hopefuly eth will go up in the future

Good luck! Yes, I also hope and it certainly should go up!

Congratulations @funke! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61410.76
ETH 2867.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61