Want To Be Rich At The End of the Crypto Adoption Cycle? Stop Trading In Terms of Dollars.

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

How easy is it to make dollars in cryptoland? That is a rhetorical question. You don't need to answer it. We all know you can make stupid amounts of dollars on trading short term (and lose it if you don't exit at the right time, like right now where most people holding alts are bleeding).

We are still in the infancy of crypto. Adoption is still poised to skyrocket values. At the same time, as somebody over at zerohedge pointed out, the exact same things that were going on in the dotcom bubble are happening in cryptoland. It is inevitable that people WILL lose their shirts.

Which brings me to my point: Stop thinking in terms of dollars.

If crypto is superior to dollars, why make dollars your goal? Instead, trade in terms of dominant coins (currently BTC and ETH). I personally do not believe in ETH and won't buy it unless it is a vehicle to a different coin pair I can't get with BTC.

So my goal is trading up to more BTC. That is a challenge, where trading up to more dollars is not. If I end up with more dollars but less BTC at the end of a trade, I made a bad trade and wasted my time because I could have just held BTC instead of doing all that math and graphing.

If the simple math of interest and GDP holds true as @dollarvigilante predicts, the US Dollar and Japanese Yen won't exist by 2025. Why make accumulating them your goal? Don't. Do. It.

One great side effect of NOT trading relative to dollars is that I am serene and calm as BTC/USD drops like a rock. I don't care. If someone values dollars more than BTC, their opinion is hopelessly mired in the past. I can calmly ignore those valuation and make good buys while the rest of the world thinks the sky is burning down around their ears.

And that is priceless comfort in a volatile world, making the difference between crypto kings and crypto paupers.

Sort:  

Wanna see something really cool? I haven't posted anything up and I can do this every 12 hours soooo... here you go.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by seanengman from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This^ Right^ Here^ was because you wrote an awesome article.

Wow, thanks!

This is my goal and what I actively perform.

Thanks for the resteem. That is probably my first. Ever.

Lol, I find resteems more flattering than upvotes. I don't think people resteem enough.

Not investment advice, just what I'm doing. Keep calm and trade well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66991.04
ETH 3101.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74