Quick review on TREZOR

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Hi Everyone

So I finally received my TREZOR in the mail after a short wait while it was on back order and the wait was definitely worth it.

Its easy to use, stores many coins, not too expensive and the main thing secure. Its also a lot smaller than I thought making it easy to hide if needed.

trezor_grey.jpg

I also like how it pairs with myetherwallet allowing it to store ETH and all the ERC20's.

The cord could be a little longer but luckily its a common cord.

Overall great product not sure if I should buy another TREZOR or try another brand like Ledger or something also.

Cold storage is a must have once you reach an amount of crypto you wouldn't be comfortable holding if it was cash and was in your real wallet. If you have a review of a different cold storage device that is similar post it in the comments so I can check it out.

Cheers
Gowd

Sort:  

I'm new on this. I ordered one but i haven't tested any results yet.

Get on it put your Crypto in a safe place

Did you compare the Trezor to the Ledger before you purchased? If so, what did you like more about the Trezor?

I did look into it at the time, both are very similar the thing that made me choose the trezor was that I was holding a decent amount of cryptocurrency and the trezor would arrive 1 month earlier and I just wanted to get it of the exchange asap.
Edit: and I just remembered it was on sale when I purchased too

Can you extract the private key from the Trezor so you can keep it as a back-up in a separate place?

yes, you make a hand written back up key when you first set up your trezor in case of theft or damage to your trezor.

Oh, that's nice xD have to get me one

Strangely TREZOR still is not supporting Monero, although there is a very high demand from users and the community. Ledger Nano is supporting Monero in a few days, this is why i ordered the Ledger instead of the Trezor.

Im sure they will in the future

Is there any recovery option for getting our key/wallet if there is any hardware failure of trezor ?

I believe there is but I'm not 100% sure. Flood, fire, dog eats it...all possibilities. I ordered Trezor yesterday because Ledger was out of stock.

Nano S is now in stock at a reasonable price on Amazon. Trezor is an excellent wallet as well.

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@mikeflow/ledger-nano-s-in-stock-now-at-a-reasonable-price

yes, you hand write your private key when setting up your trezor for exactly that failure or theft.

Congratulations @gowd, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 3825 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1204.95. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Great review, I've the Ledger Nano S. Very happy with it, I've no use a Trezor, so I can't say which one is better. The Nano S was great to access the Bitcoin Cash and the new Bitcoin Segweit addresses. Down side, waiting for the wallet to arrive.

Haha yeah the wait is killer. Glad you are liking the Ledger eventually I will have both.

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @blocktrades valued at 95.54 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

How much did it cost and would be intersted if you do buy a ledger how the trezor compares to the ledger. I don't know how soon I'll be in the market for one, but may purchase one at the end of the year.

here is a link to a post I made when I ordered the trezor I just remembered it was on sale at the time too https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@gowd/pre-ordered-my-trezor-on-sale-for-aussies-atm
It is an Australian supplier I believe I payed $150 or $145 at the time

I have got but has not connected it yet

Get it going and get your crypto in a safe place. Make sure you update the firmware before you set it up if you have had it lying around for a while.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75