Drafting a (missing?) crypto overview: which coins on which exchanges?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Hi all,

I would like to hear your thoughts regarding this idea which could support new or ‘settling’ crypto speculators/investors... who are interested in following and trading several coins, rather then (or besides) 'just' holding one or a few in their respective wallets.

First draft (download & open in MS Excel):
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1-LA5iD2B_u7bnGf2Hy3YKsTlsCDJCfGY
[Important note: version 19/01/18!]

Problems this tool wants to solve:

  • I want to buy/... coin X, Y & Z. On which exchanges can I find them? Is there one who has them all?
    Coinmarketcap allows for individual queries only: select coin - tab ‘markets’. As far as I know, though, there’s no general overview.

  • I am registered on (or use) exchange X, Y and Z.
    Which coins do I still miss (out of the top 100/...)? And... on which other exchange(s) should I register as well to get access to the interesting coins I'm still missing?
    Or... I'm wondering if I should register on this other exchange I heared about... Is it worth it?
    Which extra coins does it give me access to, which 'my' exchanges don't have?

  • my favourite exchange is down...just when I was about to buy coin(s) X,... (etc)! Where can I go so I can still get them?

How to use it:

(- optional: is there a specific reference currency/coin you want to have on this exchange for buying these altcoins you look for?
=> go to row 3, click in column B and select the reference currency/coin (default = bitcoin) ...or remove the filter and show all...)

  • what coins does exchange X have?
    => go to row 3, click in the range of columns F-… on the exchange you look for and select ‘X’ in the dropdown box

  • on which exchanges can I buy coin X, Y & Z?
    => go to row 3, click in column D or E… and select the coin(s) you are looking for

  • which coins do I miss from the first XXX of the coinmarketcap ranking, having already exchange X,…
    => go to row 3, click in the range of columns F-… on each of the exchanges you are registered in… and select ‘ ‘ (empty). Now you have all ‘remaining’ coins, listed top down…

What do you think?

Is this old news… which already can be found at site XXX (which I missed out)?
Great news… but lacking this or that?

Any comments or suggestions… or questions you might have yourself that might be resolved by changing or expanding the idea… more than welcome!

Below are some things I am still pondering about myself...

Some issues that need solving:

  • which exchanges to add… and which not.
    e.g. next version includes Kucoin :)
    e.g. some are exclusively for Korean citizens
    => I would keep those, as the Koreans might like this too
    e.g. some only have some base pairs
    => does anyone see any added value in adding XX smaller exchanges just for their few already covered base pairs?

  • data quality/consistency: some coins are registered with other codes
    e.g. DASH is registered as ‘DSH’ at the Wex exchange
    e.g. Stellar Lumen is registered as ‘STR’ at the Poloniex exchange
    e.g. Walton is registered as ‘WALTON’ at the Allcoin exchange
    e.g. Decentraland is registered as ‘MNA’ at the Bitfinex exchange
    e.g. MobileGo is registered as ‘EMGO’ at the HitBTC exchange
    eg. BitcoinCash is registered as ‘BCC’ at the exchanges Binance, Bittrex, OKex, LIQUI and Bitgrail
    e.g. ETHOS is registered as ‘BQX’ at the Binance exchange (?)

I don't know whether those deviations are ‘courtesy’ of Coinmarketcap… or the original exchanges... Anyway, this can be solved (semi)manually...waiting for a better solution...

(- data quality: coins with no rank, …?)

(- sorting order column C)

Some nice to haves:

  • ranking the exchanges from left to right based on market cap. Right now this can be done manually;

  • adding an extra tab listing all markets' info: website, volume, etc

  • not just indicating which markets offer the coin...but also showing the coin's trading volume in each market (or an indication of this market's size or share based on the CMC info)

  • placing the main currency variable (Cur1) as a dropdown box on top of the table (instead as a row header)... Not possible in google sheets (?)

  • developing this idea further in a more powerful excel file using the API of coinmarketcap and/or others' for real time data (might be a lot of work in set up and maintainance);

  • transform the idea into a (part of a) website.
    Having only a limited amount of time to spend in crypto… it would be fun to join forces / ...

(The end...so far... :-) )

Hasse

#cryptocurrency #exchanges #altcoins #resources #tool #proposal

Sort:  

Whoa, this seems like a ton of work. A bit of information overload as well. When it comes to data consumption, the interface matters, and I think that's important here as well. For me, the end point is always the call to action. What is a human being supposed to actually do when presented with a piece of information. You gave some example questions in the post here, but I'm not sure they apply to a wide audience. Generally, I hear about a coin and then I go thinking about where it might be trading. I don't generally think about the entire ecosystem as a whole because I don't have an action item that would be determined by that information.

Definitely an A for effort and there may be some really useful use cases here that I'm just not seeing yet.

Luke, thanks for taking your time :-).
I made some changes clarifying (I hope) the problems I wanted to solve. Indeed, it's not really an elevator pitch.

I admit that most of the time, you get started or look for one specific coin...and then for an exchange... but in the long run, in my experience, I still bumped into these kind of questions (like when kucoin entered the marketor binance and kraken went down)... so this got me in motion.

I'm quite fluent working & playing with excel...so it didn't take loads of time ... but still enough to first listen to some feedback... to see where it provides the most added value before proceeding...

So thanks again!

You created this tool through coding and programming? If so, we need to talk on Dicsord. I have a proposition for you!

Great article by the way. I'd like to talk to you regardless so we can work together in the future!

Hi Lucky @terminallyill,
glad you like it :).
It's actually been a semimanual creation: in short, I copy pasted all those markets' trading pair tables from CMC tot Excel...added another tab with the complete coins listing... linked both...and then used these data to create a pivot table...which'result I then copypasted to this shared sheet to make it more user friendly for the not so excel savvy. It took some time...but went relatively fast as I'm quite handy in these kind of operations.
It would be fun to make this update automatically using API and probably VBA... Looks like there are some useful resources for it. But as far as I found out there are a number of important obstacles (and maybe not the required API's)...
So yes... let's get together at discord too (user name Hasse) ...and discuss this &... further there so we can maybe post any conclusions here :-). See you there!

@terminallyIl, I sent you 0.001 sbd with more contact info.
( I wonder why the dev team hasn't provided any PM system here...(?) )

I'm sorry for the delay my friend, please add me on Discord. LuckyDev#1969.

I am looking forward to talking more about your project and possibly getting to work together in the future! If you are interested in joining in @greetersguild, please check us out and join our Discord server if you are interested.

https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx

Congratulations @hasse72! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of

SteemTrail / https://steemil.com/@steemtrail
as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a
TRAIL / https://steemil.com/@steemtrail
token for your participation on our innovative platform...
STEEM / https://steemil.com/@steemtrail
.

Please visit
SteemTrail Now / https://steemil.com/@steemtrail
to get instructions on how to claim your
TRAIL / https://steemil.com/@steemtrail
token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional
TRAIL / https://steemil.com/@steemtrail
tokens and
SteemTrail / https://steemil.com/@steemtrail
, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL! And Click Here / https://steemil.com/@steemtrail

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54