Locked Out Of Bittrex!!! HAHA

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

bittrex.jpg

Image

How my day started

What a way to start the day. I woke up sick to my stomach and called out of work today, then proceeded to going back to sleep. After a little while I decided to check the markets out and figured I would also check my Bittrex for some trades I had going on. I logged onto my computer and checked out coinmarketcap. Almost everything is in double digit red. Eh not that big a deal, great time to pick up some more crypto if you know what I mean. Great I'll do that after I check my Bittrex account! So I head on over to the Bittrex exchange, log in with my username and password, no problem, but then we get to the 2FA. I pull out my phone and go to open my Google authenticate, wait, where is it? Its no longer here on my phone! WTF! So I download the app again and sure as shit, none of my accounts are in the app. No worries, I backed up my key so I could gain access again. The question is, where did I put my backup? I know I made one. Well long story short, I have looked everywhere with no luck. Checked all my computers, tore up my bedroom looking for the key I wrote down. I cannot find it anywhere.

5a82c345495ce60a-whats_next_video.jpg

Image

What Now?

So now I have filed a ticked with Bittrex, luckily I had easy access to all of the information they needed to verify my identity. I was worried, I have read lots of horror stories from people not getting responses due to the high volume of people coming or trying to come to Bittrex. Well lucky for me, I got a response before I finished writing this post! It was an hour tops for the response. They disabled my 2FA and I was able to log back in no problem. Re enabled my 2FA and made sure I have multiple backups of my secret key. Not gonna lose this thing again lol. Whew, what a day, but I'm back in and glad everything worked out.

Depositphotos_129800172_l-2015.jpg

Image

What I've learned

First and foremost, make sure you have your passwords and keys backed up and know where they are at. I knew I had made a digital and physical backup but I had no idea where. When I needed them, it was no where to be found. Not much good that backup was eh? lol

Second, don't keep your money on an exchange. If anything stops you from accessing that exchange you have no access to your funds, or if the exchange gets hacked, as we have seen before with all sorts of exchanges, who knows what will happen. Now I did not have all my money on this exchange and I don't normally leave money on any exchange so if anything had happened, it would not have been the end of the world, but it would have sucked for sure. No one wants to lose money. I should have moved my funds to my wallet but I was lazy. Luckily everything worked out this time. I say this time because if there is one thing I have learned in life, no matter how prepared you may be for something, sometimes shit just happens. I'm not one to normally lose a password or backup. It can happen to anyone.

My last tidbit of advise

When life is not going your way or when shit happens, don't panic or freak out. No one makes good decisions when they lose control of their feelings. Doesn't matter if it's related to money, trading or just life in general. Learn to control your emotions and look at what steps you need to take to resolve the issue in front of you. You wont get anywhere if you just make yourself a victim of what ever is happening. Empower yourself and start to move forward. I could have freaked out but instead I composed myself. Found out what I needed to do to contact Bittrex and get back into my account, then I did it. Luckily it was resolved extremely quickly.

I want to thank everyone for reading and I hope someone will learn from my mistakes. I was once told that a wise man learns from other's mistakes so he does not have to make them himself. Please upvote resteem, and leave a comment.

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Jokes 😂 You got me worried for a second then I'm gonna get a hardware wallet tonight ahah great post

Haha didn't mean to worry anyone. Harware wallets are totally worth it. thanks for your kind words and upvote! I appreciate it.

no worries mate best of luck in the future haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69424.33
ETH 3671.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17