2019 will start disappointing

2018 was started, continued and ended boring for cryptocurrency markets. many cryptos bleeded in this year and many ICOs failed.

I believe one of the main reasons for crypto market failure was the unrealistic ICO ecosystem.

55% of initial coin offerings failed to complete in the 2018 second quarter, according to a report from the agency ICORating.

there were big names among them like DAO, OneCoin, Tezos, Enigma, SpaceBit, Droplex etc

The money thrown on ICOmania could be used and invested more efficiently on dApp projects and blockchain startups causing real addoption of crypto.

I'm pretty sure we will pass this stage, we will move on from the current situation and I will tell my son, someday:

IMG_20181206_225318.jpg

but till then, many coins and blockchains will disappear and some more will be born. people will treat ICOs more cautiously and the market expectations will be more mature and realistic.

2019 will start disappointing, but the second half will bring us surprises! this is what I believe...

Sort:  

2019 The year of the boomerang!!

... money from the government, true ... they call that a free market, ha

yeah everyone was trying to lay their own railroad track instead of actually building trains to run on it !

This is an Oddly true statement. I wonder why they keep building new cryptos and ICOs instead of using what is already there.

When they get smart contracts fully working over Lightning Network, I fully expect an BTC based ICO. I'm still going to advise against buying it though.

There are several articles and podcasts about why people keep buying into new ICOs and other coins when it has been shown time and time again that there are dozens if not hundreds of coins that simply do not exist anymore and the chance or recreating an investment success that BTC or ETH had is quite slim.

In fact, ETH was really a damn miracle considering all the other alt coins that died before it. There were many predicting it would be a failure on startup. But it succeeded so people think they can do it again... But they forget, that out of 100 alt coins... There was ETH.

To be fair... DOGE is still a thing.

If you are bored and have time, take a look through this list before investing in a new coin or token:

https://deadcoins.com/

There are 934 official dead projects/coins/tokens.

Ha! Free market haha

Posted using Partiko Android

I too share this opinion with you, I believe this downward spiral is a great opportunity to get into the market, and also I think that we might start seeing a purge of the so-called "Shit coins" making the more serious Coins and tokens stand out more in a sea of options.

agree 👍 i call it market maturity

I feel like the real excitement, as you say, will be the application side of it. And that seems to be coming...

The history of Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency is full of "I should haves". :(

I remember having like 500 Bitcoins and "Making it big" when I sold them at $10 back in 2011ish.

oh god I wish I had bought some back then😓
but I had the chance and didn't believed it!

Dar tiempo para ver como se comporta la curva de aprendizaje!

one part of your words was great for me "and the market expectations will be more mature and realistic." exactly!
what I learned from all of these, is that there is no real and exact prediction in anything in this business as if we get back and look we see many predictions were wrong, but well I mean crypto may get back to its golden days and maybe it will keep failing. but also what I saw was that even NASDAQ had a drop, for example, Apple stock had a bad fall. so I feel like its happening in many different businesses and not only crypto.
also, I would like to mention Bitcoin value history (comparison to US$):
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_bitcoin

asdfsasd.jpg

as you can see in the photo I took from Wikipedia which I also left its link up there. Bitcoin never ended, from 2010 till now, its even had much success to reach this point, while some people think that Bitcoin will fall or it is not able to be at the top ...
the thing I learned from its history shows that this is not its first time of falling down, so I can just guess that it's also able to go to 100,000$ and reach that point too in future, just like how it started from Jan 2009 – Mar 2010 with 0$ price and went to $$19,783 in 17 December 2017

so we still can have hopes :D

thank you for the article mate!

and now 2000 usd per btc would look cheap

Agree, I'm looking forward on Q3 of 2019 to be the most prosperous year for the cryptocurrency. More news and more adoption to come and it will surely bring us there. But the good thing is that on the current bearish market, https://beta.cryptocurrencies.ai will offer every trader to trade with confidence with it's Back-test Optimization tool where it will indicate on when you should convert your assets to a stable coin to reduce the downside risk.

good comment ended with spam ads 😒

Probably the come back will not be now but in years from now...$625b worth of money vanished in thin air in 2018...the bill was paid by retail investors and businesses that early adopted crypto...now they are scared as hell.. check this out https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@sabzero/bitcoin-is-here-to-stay-but-it-won-t-fly-either-soon-here-is-why

Disappointing again im so tired to see all bad news in crypto market, but i have seen this trading competition should i join here? https://www.kucoin.com/#/rank/IOG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73