Financial Tip of the Day #12 - Learn To Use Excel!

If I had to pick 5 things that I could recommend you do for your finances and investing, one would certainly be to learn how to use excel. I'm not talking about a sumif formula, really learn how to use excel. There are so many functions and capabilities of excel that are under utilized and have major potential. Here are some examples just to name a few:

1. Goal Seek

2. Conditional Formatting

3. Scenario Manager

4. Pivot Tables

5. VBA/macros/functions

I use excel every day in both my profession and personal life through investing and managing my finances. One of the posts that I'm going to be making in the future will contain a free in-depth budgeting excel. Not only will this excel help you to discover how you must manage your finances to reach your goals, but it will also simulate your future financial outcomes through formulas and macros. Another example where excel has helped me in my daily life was through the excel I introduced in this youtube video -

 

This excel calculates a mathematically optimal stop loss point for your investments. 

The possibilities of excel are nearly limitless. I highly recommend playing around with excel, its formulas, and capabilities. Incorporating excel into your life will not only help you plan for the future, but also will save you a tremendous amount of time and effort.


**

I hope that you found this post useful. If you have any questions, please comment below. My goal with this profile is to make frequent posts about personal finance, cryptocurrencies, investment, and wealth generation. I plan to not only make posts, but also youtube videos, and give away free excel workbooks to assist you in your personal finance goals. If this interests you, please let me know and follow my profile. Additionally, if you would like to reach out and ask any questions/request that I make a post on a topic, please reach out to me at [email protected].

**         


Sort:  

Agree. I mean I use Mint for my personal finances, so all of my information has probably been stolen by now. I'm not nearly as savvy as you are with excel, so I'm definitely jealous. I do however use excel quite a bit at work as well. At home, like you I mostly use it to keep track of my investments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67280.14
ETH 3764.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57