Coinbase? Or....? Opinions PLEASE for wallets!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

I currently use Coinbase but am told by others to start looking for a more consistent and useful wallet long-term. Whaty does everyone here use?! I would love some opinions on where I should store my cryptos :)

Thank you for the help!

Sort:  

Exodus Wallet to hold the majority of smaller amounts (under $1,000 each) but this is what I typically use to trade currency. Holds multiple currencies and has built in shapeshift. On the phone Jaxx is the only real option. They have a history of being hacked so I only keep small amounts of bitcoin/eth on it basically my mobile wallet but I have no use for it yet and would only keep money in it temporarily. Ethereum wallet desktop application for eth, I use this to hold the majority of my erc 20 tokens. And finally a ledger nano s to hold the bulk of your wealth. This is a usb that is linked to your private key that makes it impossible to access your wallet without the ledger usb and your passkey. These all have varying degrees of saftey. Currently I only use coinbase to purchase small amounts of bitcoin/ethereum and then transfer it directly into another wallet.

Awesome advice. Thanks @steeleminer! Im just worried about the safety as well and keeping my options open for all of my storage of Bitcoin, Eth, and Litecoin

Please DO NOT store bitcoins on coinbase. You don't own the private key and if a hard fork takes places you will be SOL out of the new coins.

^^RESTEEMED^^

What do you suggest I do to transfer my coins to for the long haul? Thanks @steemit-stats!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62