The start of my journey to Mount King

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

So, let's start with an introduction. Who am I and why am I here?

BATMAN
(No, I'm not.)

I'm an average guy, I would say. A middle class guy from a developing country, in his early thirties, that has fallen for the latest crypto-currency "hype" in December 2017 like many, many others. I've been in this journey for a short time, a little less than three months now, but I feel like my experience so far might be of interest to people that are in a similar situation or that will be in the future. I've been devoting a lot of time to "all things crypto" lately and realize how much I have seen and learned during this period and how much I still have ahead of me.

It can be a frightening world for sure, given its vastness and complexity, but it all depends on your background. People are interested in cryptocurrencies for different reasons. Money, of course, is what has been driving all the hype: people after the idea of getting rich quick, an expression you will see a lot in this space. The interest in crypto comes and goes like giant waves, bringing with them new people and new money, generating profits for people who know how these waves behave, and losses to those who jump in at the wrong time without knowing what they're doing (most of us, honestly). People may call it bubbles and crashes, but history shows that they are just ups and downs; waves.

I've been one of those. I jumped in, or FOMO'd in as some would say (another term you will see a lot), and then started learning. I started with the hype, with the idea of getting a quick buck. I stayed because I believe there's more to it. Yes, I am still very, very much interested in making money with crypto (who isn't, right!?), but that's not all. I started believing in what it can do and how much it can change the way we live.

I realized I really believed and liked it when I got excited while watching videos about blockchain and a crypto project called Power Ledger. Goosebumps in my arms showed me how much it meant for me. It was somehow like when you find a new amazing song by a new artist and realize that you have so much more ahead of you, so many more potential great songs. That's when I started looking at these projects with a different perspective.

Let me try to give you an idea of what this meant for me. This project is building an infrastructure where people will be able to generate clean energy, share any extra amount of energy they produce with their neighborhood and be payed for it. At the same time, people that cannot generate their own clean energy can just buy it from their neighbors. Think about it, imagine an entire city with solar panels everywhere, all interconnected, people sharing their energy automatically, using what is extra, reducing waste, contributing to one another, and all without needing a giant corporation behind it controlling all that. Clean energy, green cities, decentralization. This involves so many important topics for humanity that I can't avoid but feel like this is a giant step into the future.

greencities.gif
(From the series Cosmos, highly recommended. If you can watch the original, even better.)

Now, you have to be aware that this and every other crypto related project and currency are still just projects, still new technologies in their early years of life. Even though you might feel like you missed out by not getting into crypto years ago (I did and still do!), do not fool yourself, we are still in the beginning. All cryptocurrencies and related projects are unfinished and still very young technologies. There are many challenges yet to come, and many projects will probably fail, but the potential is enormous.

I am not an expert on cryptocurrencies nor blockchain, although I do have a technical background. I'm not an experienced trader or investor. I'm just a regular guy with a short story in the crypto space but with already quite a few things to share. I will probably jump through all aspects of cryptocurrencies: technologies, investing, trading, community, news, and whatever is on my radar at the moment.

I'm here to learn and to share what I've learned. I've noticed that the communities created around crypto projects are one of the most important aspects of crypto in general. After all, it all revolves around decentralization, doesn't it? I've relied on others for knowledge and several times for inspiration. If you're just getting into it, think about it, look for sources of information you believe in and be a part of it. Start with learning. Then keep doing it.

So stay around and let's share some knowledge.


Wondering what's up with the title of this post? Check this print from the amazing Bitcoin chart by gmgame on tradingview:

Bitcoin

Sort:  

Hi. I am a bot that looks for newbies who write good content!
Your post passed all of my tests.

@greetbot evaluated your post's quality score at [48.08] points!

You get:


greetbot's stamp of approval
I also write bots and other code for crypto....

Welcome! I too am an investor in Powerledger. Besides the application of the product, what really caught my eye was the management, in particular Dr Green. I was blown away by her experience, especially as I am from the same city as her and realise how rare it is to find someone with her career path from our city. That takes a lot of doing.

Hey, thank you! Nice to know your opinion about the team. I also found them to be very professional and experienced, but I haven't done extensive research on them yet. I heard in one of their videos that somewhere in Australia 20% of the houses have solar panels, do you know anything about that? Is solar energy already that big in Australia?

I am not sure of that exact number but I think it would be close to that. In some areas it would be above and some areas below. The figures I have seen are 15% as of 2016, no doubt it has increased since then. Solar energy is perfect for Australia due to the geography of the country, climate and high energy prices. The government is really pushing for the adoption of solar power .

That's actually really nice to hear. We need to stop burning things, we need more Australias.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @greetbot
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72