Crypto Inquiry: Does using a remote daemon for Monero or Bytecoin GUI wallet synch compromise security?

bytecoin-logo-300x300.png

Does using a remote daemon for Monero or Bytecoin GUI wallet synch compromise security?


While I know that these two cryptocurrencies are basically untraceable, would a remote daemon/node be able to see incoming transactions and trace them to my wallet if I am utilizing said daemon/node to synch to the blockchain?

This may be kind of a rookie question, but I am interested in knowing. I know that my private keys and outgoing transactions are safe and unviewable, but was wondering about incoming transactions.

Thanks in advance. If someone can help me understand this better I'll be glad to throw a small SBD tip your way.

Cheers.


~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I don't have the answer but I dam sure would like to...!!! I have a small setup running Monero and every time I have something come through, I get a weird pop up on a completely separate computer (chromebook). I know Chrome likes to link "everything" so I disabled extensions, but still happening. The popup happens so fast that I can only see that it says "Monero GUI" and something else ?? - then disappears. Any of the big brains out there that can help - will be much appreciated...

Man, I hate stuff like that. Hopefully it's just some harmless artifact, but it drives you nuts, right?

I'm a layman for technology, but you've asked good questions, I'm waiting for answers ... @kafkanarchy84

good job sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69194.08
ETH 3757.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67