How to Evaluate Cryptocuyrrencies in this information Jungle?!?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

I just read this post by @ivonne. The post is in German, but basically she has been informing herself about cryptocurrencies for two months now, yet it all feels like a jungle to her. So the question is: how do we know what to go after in this hunt for profits .

IMG_lion.jpg

I chose to use this picture of a lion I took in the Masai Mara in Kenya because she is currently looking at her prey trying to figure out how to make a kill.

Every step she takes and decision she is making is key for success. As an investor I feel the same way about the cryptocurrency market. So let me tell you some of the thoughts I have.

Ivonne is asking two very good questions:

  • Do we need to evaluate cryptocurrency differently
  • What are the criteria of evaluation

Keep it simple

To me live is always simple and having a very basic model and framework is always very important to be able to navigate successfully. As such there are only two things that are relevant to me on the highest level when making investment decisions:

  1. What is giving this project/coin/blockchain value
  2. Price action: What do the charts look like and in what kind of market are we at the moment

If I cannot figure out what gives anything value or where this value is coming from then I have either not made my homework correctly, or I have mis-judged the opportunity or the thing should not be invested in because it probably does not have value.

Even if a project is amazing I do not want to enter into a position if it is at the top of a bubble. When a coin crashes 90% after I buy it will be hard for me to make winning investments. Instead I should pick it up after such dips and then profits should come much easier. Likewise the market as a whole is often in a bull or bear market and such should be taken into account before entering positions.

When we listen on TV to experts and their opinion about crypto we often hear one camp advocating for the "groundbreaking technology" and the other side calling it "just another bubble".

btc_debate-tv.JPG

The thing is to understand that not one or the other is not automatically right and wrong, but that both may be right. In such a case it would be crucial to invest at the right time.

We need new metrics

Sorry but there is not automatically a profit, cashflow, P/E ratio etc. that you can use to figure out if the price is right. If this was an easy market everyone would be in it and you would not be able to get 100x returns within one year (i.e. like ETH went from $8 to over $1400 in about one year).

These metrics may not exist so that you have to invent them or sometimes even metrics may not tell the whole story. Think about Apple in 2007, when the iPhone was invented. If you were really smart you could have realized that this would change the entire phone market and change what the internet will be. However there is not really a math formula that you use to come to such conclusion. You must use your intelligence and experience. That neural network inside your head.

Respect the nature of this technology and limitations of your brain

The truth is that such revolutionary technologies don't come around that often. I personally believe that blockchains are a new invention of organization that allow us to be production in a entirely new context. Such happens very very rarely and as a result we are not adapted to deal with it.

As a result many wall street analysis and TV personalities look at the bitcoin charts and apply their standard analysis patterns to it. That will work in many ways but misses the big picture at the same time. We are adapted to see everything in patterns and reference everything with anything. That is how our brain works. And in nature this works well because it adapts over millions of years and usually does not change very much.

In other words naturally we are not very adapted to dealing with things we don't know. At the same time we as a species are the one that has learned to adapt the most. We need to use those skills to change our frame of reference as agile as possible to quickly learn what this is and how it works. For this we need to be very open minded because the connections will not be apparent to us, because we have never seen and drawn them.

So while keeping the soft factors in mind here are some metrics I like to use:

Criteria of evaluation

I think that how we evaluate things must be specific to a project. I think we would evaluate bitcoin, ethereum and steem very differently.
Maybe certain coins that compete in one markets can be evaluated similarly i.e. eos, ada, lsk and eos etc. or all the privacy coins and so forth, but overall it is important I think to look at these things evolve separately.

Once this space is older this may change but for now I think understand their value will often be unique, at least for the projects that matter.

Our lioness also needs to find her specific path to success.

Afrika-3.jpg

That said we can look for a few general things:

  • What is the mission (how is this thing going to change the world for the better)
  • Design: How is this mission accomplished technologically. Are all the right components available that is required to be successful. Is this solution comprehensive or does it only solve parts of the problem.
  • What is the team: are there capable people driving he success and what is the incentive structure that supports good performance. Do they have a roadmap and vision?
  • Innovation: Can this be done without a blockchain and are the new advantages from blockchains leveraged in a new way that others do not. Is there some copy cat going on or is this true innovation. If stuff is copied is the rest innovative enough to make it viable. Does this require a company and should not actually be crypto project?
  • Coin and incentive structure: Does the coin system support everything, drive the mission and keep it all together or is it just a get rich scheme for a company or founders?
  • Infrastructure and onboarding: Is there some infrastructure in place to allow users to onboard or incentive structures that will market the coin and keep it growing?

These are just examples and may need to be adjusted, but may be a starting point to analyze if something has value

Summary

As you can see I do not have a standard way of analyzing crypto projects. But there are some things I look for. In the end however it comes down to do I believe this is a truly viable project or thing that can change the world. And if so when is a good time to get in.

I think the good news is that we have so much innovative energy in this space that tons of truly great things are being built. And with this volatility there are always opportunities to find good entry points to enter as well as taking some profits.

IMG_7564.jpg

Our lioness was successful and killed a Zebra. The above is the same lion all three times and I was lucky to be able to shoot her at the start during and after the hunt.

I wish you much success in your endeavors as well.

Sort:  

@knircky! For a long time I have't read so reasonable view on crypto sphere. So i must contribute some of my thoughts about evaluating cryptos.

Do we need to evaluate cryptocurrency differently?

Definitively we have to develop new approaches. As you mentioned open mind is crucial factor. There is so many new phenomena to explore in crypto space that we have put all our effort in spotting new patterns never to be discovered yet. More we can detect the better will go along in coining our profits.
Thanks for finding this NVT signal thing. I think that more innovative gauges and tools will emerge and we have to keep exploring that stuff to be able for new discoveries.

What are the criteria of evaluation?

I think that for now everything is running around Bitcoin. Still, all altcoins are highly correlated with Bitcoin. Bitcoin is like a whale all other small fish fallow him.
But on the other hand we have to observe any deviations from the main stream in all means. Here I think of properties like new technology breakthroughs, better connectivity with real word (and current financial system), good decentralization properties of particular projects and possible good hardware solutions in crypto sphere.

p.s. check my TA here @, it is still valid. I don't post about price movement three times a day as some TA prophets do here on Steemit. When I have to say something I try to make an important point as you done in this post here. Here @ is also a list of my older posts, in my opinion still worth to read.

This is one of the best posts I have seen on here, especially the following paragraph really stands out

Thank you and this blog is about blockchain related to my comment, check it here @ and also my older colection @@.

Glad that you move this comment upwards, because I think that is good continuation of your thoughts in this post. Thanks!

Aslo I recomanded this TA post @. @mazharkazmi deserves some SBD boost because this analysis is the best one I read for a long time. Mature thinking about trading.

Not like a lot of shitty spam pumping TA from greedy TA prophets flooding Steemit just to milk reward pool with some times almost misleading information about price movements.
Reading their stuff sometimes make me seek.

@knircky
I am very poor student
So, please upvote my post as donate
Please please

I flag your post because begging will drive you nowhere. If you continue this way, you can expect more downvotes (flags) only.
The right way is to start quality posts not only a picture or video and short comment. For start read some high quality posts from @curie project. Express yourself and grow your knowledge.

This explanation is intended to encourage you to be better and smarter. Keep on hard work and you will get rich!

How I will get rich man?
please tell me bro

Read comment to your flagged post!

How much Bitcoin will raise again

Same question from my side also

i upvoted you happy :) ?

I've long know steemit, but now I got to focus. Help me to vote.

Dis was nice and very helpful..

Here is another blog about blockchain, check it here@.
Be nice man!

Hello @knircky,
now I have read very careful your guidance how to find my way through the jungle.
Thank you very much again. In most positions I agree with you.

To "iPhone/Apple" I like to say:
with the iPhone in 2007 there was launched a product which could be sold by apple. The smart investor could calculate with some figures and expectations regarding the profit in future and dividend for shareholders.

  • is not profit the last part in the chain to create the value of a company?
  • how will Bitcoin create profit and share it with the bitcoin-holders?

Another case is STEEM and SBD. Steemit is a business-purpose. The cryptocurrency is linked with the steemit-community. The stemit-community is a value behind the token - very fine.

But yet I don't know, how steemit will earn money for non-community-members to create a value for investors and payout a dividend to the STEEM/SBD-holders.

This question is still my black hole in the big picture of the cryptocurrencies.

Best regards from the borderline to the BLACK FOREST.

A real investor to me is like a crocodile, they survived since dinosaurs age, the reason why is because they have diverse defense mechanism: tail, thick skin, razor teeth, powerful jaw and water. They also have patience to wait till the herd will gather to the water, because the crocodile knew the herd needs water for their basic needs. Hence, Invest for long term, diversified, have patience, and invest to a token that is a basic needs to all application.
Desclaimer: This is not an investment advice, it is only an education. :)

and crocodile should be very careful and plan before coming out to land.

Bitcoin Price Prediction??

Dis is more informing than it looks, thanks alot for this.

I love the analogy! But in the wild west zero-sum game of crypto-investing (as in nature) sometimes even crocs get wrecked 😉:


(Skip to 1:00 min for the action)

One of the most important questions I ask myself when looking at ICOs/Coins is:

Is there an existing usecase? Is blockchain technologie useful for this usecase? How do the circumstances (Team, legal situation, etc.) look like?

Since it is one of the few ICOs I invested in, I will just take HEROcoin (PLAY-Token), an Austrian ICO for the eSports betting industry as an example. Those are the thoughts that pushed me into investing at their ICO:

Betting should be based on something reliable, trustable and unfakeable - things that a blockchain could provide very well. So there definitely is a good usecase for a coin in that industry.

Betting on sports is extremly popular and still rising in my opinion. eSports undoubtly are on the rise as well - a lot of betting on those is only a question of time imo.

The company has a public known team + popular investors + they try to act within the Austrian framework of laws.

They already have an existing betting plattform with many users and have shown to not just have founded as a company because of the crypto hype.

I just try to think rationally : "Does anybody need this coin?"

This may not work wellf or all coins - But for the ones I invested in, it worked out well so far :)

Greets, Martin

I just wanna share with everybody that nowadays there are more and more institutions are doing DD investigation for cryptocurrency projects, for example, Direc(DRC), they are from traditional financial industry and very professional.

stay away from government crypto

cool post
I keep it my selection very simple.
I ask myself which crypto technology will survive when the party is over.
Did you know that 60% of last years ICO's are dead or almost dead!?
Im trying to find the survivors like Google, Amazon, Ebay etc

john , my intution says -

  1. ethereum will be crypto amazon.
  2. monero will rule dark web.

Lending platform nowadays sucks! they simply ruin the image of crypto as a whole. Im out with lending platform!

Well said @knircky, my measurement of a good crypto is its usability, who & what companies supports it, its road map and the team behind it. If these items will be achieved then for sure im going to bought some coins in it.

the lending programs before Bitconnect scam were some what good but After the bitconnect scam, Almost all lending programs became risky one .After bitconnect scam ,the davor coin also scammed and now the dekado is also on the same way.But the reason behind this is after bitconnect scam ,people lost totally faith on lending platform.Because bitconnect taught the landing to whole world.but after this big scam,many peoples stopped investing in other lending programs and without investment no any lending program will work.as a result of this one by one all lending programs are scammed and some are on that same track.I really appreciate your thinking !!!!

How much bitcoin will raise Price Prediction??

thank you so much steemians for accepting espicially to bro. knircky thank you for your kindness to support me the steemit goodluck and goodhealth to you and your family

Bitcoin Prediction??

Bitcoin Price Prediction??????????????????????????

thanks for sharing

I think how to evaluate is mostly based on user goals, and whether those goals are near term or long term.

I like projects that have been around for a while and do something very unique and inherently valuable. Of course, I want it to have lots of potential, too. Therefore Steem, in my humble opinion, is one of the most valuable cryptocurrencies out there, though the markets don't yet reflect this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01