I got my SolarCoin!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago
Hello again Steemit! So last month I signed up my solar installation on the http://SolarCoin.org website and I was wondering what would happen next and said I would follow up with my results.

To refresh your memory, I signed up towards the beginning of the month and I read on their website that they review new applications the first week of each month. So since then I have been patiently waiting, wondering what would happen next. Finally on April 8th I received an email stating that my SolarCoin grant has been issued. Yay! That is cool, we installed our solar panels in 2011 so all solar that we have produced since then counts (it can go as far back as 2010 I believe, check their website). Sure enough I logged into my computer and opened my wallet and (after some syncing) the SLR was there!


Now I am trying to convince my parents to get their SLR, they think it is a scam, "why would anyone just give you money?" I'll continue to work on them, but in the meantime just letting my SLR stake in my wallet. Hoping for the best with this project, it is a great idea to reward people and companies for helping the environment by going solar. I hope this is helpful for anyone considering signing up, let me know if you have any questions or need help.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

That's awesome! Glad to hear that SLR is indeed given as a reward / incentive for solar energy production. You might discuss cryptocurrency markets a bit more in-depth with your parents. A cryptocoin's value is proportional to the size of the network of users. In the past, some crypto projects have attempted to grow the network by simply "air-dropping" the coins (or giving them away to anyone), but these coins never retained long-term value because the users never invested anything to gain these "free" coins. While SolarCoin is technically given for free (as a grant), in reality it is NOT free because you can only receive a grant if you have already invested thousands of dollars in a solar energy system. Thus SLR is backed by solar energy. And as the SLR network continues to grow, then so will the value of SolarCoins.

Thank you for the suggestion, I will try again to explain the network to them :)

Good news, welcome to the community @kryptokt.

Perhaps ask your parents 'What do you have to lose?'. Scams generally want you to buy-in, SolarCoin does not.

Thank you, I have tried but they are very cautious as they should be, so many scams out there. I will continue to enlighten them :)

Yeah nothing wrong with caution, let them take their time.

What are you going to do with your SolarCoins?

Holding for now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59