You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I realized that most of my net worth is in crypto - Rich in crypto, poor IRL

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

IMO virtual and RL will eventually be the same. As more products and services adopt crypto you will be able to buy/use your crypto in the future without ever having to put it back into fiat.

At least that is what i hope. 2-3 years i'll have a nice sized portfolio and I will be able use it instead of fiat.

Not sure if everything has the same vision.

Sort:  

I don't think they will be the same though!

Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying you are wrong in your prediction that crypto will be able to pay for things in the 'real' world, because I agree we are headed in that direction.

But crypto is not the same as fiat, because with fiat money you can only spend in the 'real' world, but with crypto you will be able to spend in the 'real' world as well as in the digital world (!). That, for me, is the unique value proposition of crypto, and the reason why Bitcoin is better than gold. You can't buy digital assets with gold! Only with Bitcoin/crypto.

I too dream of the day when I will be able to buy and spend with my crypto. Unfortunately, as long as it keeps growing as this pace.. I probably won't! :)

"This pace?" you mean the current downturn? Hopefully in 2-3 years we won't even remember this dip. Keep funneling fiat into crypto and i'm sure being virtually wealthy will just be the same or better than in "real" world.

No, I mean the upward trend (as gandalf says: "Zoom out, you fools!!"). The downturn is only a few days here and there. Bitcoin had a huge run, then altcoins had a huge run. We just get used to massive gains so that when it goes down 20% we think it's a terrible thing :)
Overall, I still see massive growth over the entire year.
So if the next yeari s anything like last year.. oh my!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68241.10
ETH 3783.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65