Remember to put your unknown urls through a threat scanner if you intend to visit them, I almost got scammed






I will of course not link the website but it is any website or subdomain of EYRIEPLAY.com 

 But I learned about them through earncrypto.com or one of the apps listed there. They give you a 5 day trial and ask you to test out a game or movie, whatever they're 'testing' and even explain that you can cancel at any time! But they're wrong.


They have two places to reach account settings once you log in,  each with there own slider/checkbox saying "Active Membership" clicking this should theoretically cancel your subscription but the two buttons aren't actually connected to anything. But clicking 1 refreshes the page and shows you a "Wait til tomorrow message!" and a button that says no I want to cancel. This large button does nothing and points to a different url. It's the smaller button that has appeared in the mid-upper right of the screen which you must click. This directs you to another new page that presents a form it looks like you'd have to fill out, or scroll to the bottom and click the next cancel my subscription checkbox, then submit. Now You will either need to restart or it'll work because the new page claims it sent you an email and needs the number from that email to continue. But I never got my first email, I've gotten and lost others so I don't know how likely it is to work and truly send the email. But then you need to lookup and call their 24 hr support line and confirm the code. Then there is a better way to cancel online but no way to access it from eyrieplay/support. This design obviously would be annoying to navigate and not at all intuitive to anyone. That is because they want you to believe you have cancelled your sub. They want you to forget until they can bill you $39.95 per month. I sent them a support ticket with all my findings just asking why I got charged and why the system was designed that way, unless it was a scam. They quickly denied that of course. I think it was because of this they refunded me instantly though said it would take 10 days.


I never got a response to my ticket which promises 12 hr response times, and went through the faulty logic of designing a site with that many layers to it to perform a common action. And I don't think they will. Reviews are disabled on their FB page that has 0 likes, follows, and shares. They post a lot, usually because a comment shows up asking for a refund. I did all of this and searched around, finding many comments of how they're a scam, but I limit what I have in that account and their charge caused me to overdraft (Don't worry it now has more than it should at $300, it's a spending account) So I did more research found more comments, ran more scans and sent them a full email as their comment field to cancel is only 800 words no files.


Attached to this email was an invoice for close to $500 (Website analysis, my time, overdraft and transaction fees for instant transfers, etc) and told them to pay by Dec, 26th and all my demands were, were to make it easier to cancel, fix their broken buttons, send emails saying hey you got billed, and to stop recruiting testers as they were.


They're registered with Ecom, inc which claims to have a zero tolerance policy, obviously they hid their details, and Google doesn't view them as a threat because they don't host malware (One report claims otherwise) So I submitted claims to both Ecom and ICANN. I don't really believe anyone will do anything but I figure I at least need to spread the word so others don't see them asking for a tester for a $5 giftcard or whatever then get their ID stolen. I did tell them to delete all information associated with my email though, because if I ever see a charge from them again I'm filing an ID theft claim. They don't need anything tested, just more victims.


If anyone know where  else I should post this or how to alert google let me know please!


Sort:  

Copy and Pasting a url (i.e. "steemit.com" or "Twitter.com") into safeweb.norton.com gives you Norton/Symantec's rating. Alternatively, you can use their Safe Web search platform at search.norton.com although it uses ask.com to provide the results (gross tbh). Until recently, for Firefox users (and other browsers), there was an extension that showed you the Norton rating before you clicked on a website, but they have since discontinued that feature. I know besides myself, many others hope they bring that extension back.

P.S. Some acquaintances of mine use virustotal.com as kind of like the "kayak.com" of "is this website safe?" services, since they show other a lot of other website scanner ratings in one place.

Thanks for the req, I just made an account there!

Congratulations @lavablast44! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @lavablast44! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lavablast44! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75