[DMJ] Decentralized Mobile Justice - Developer Update #2 <> Working Towards an MVP

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians! I've been incredibly busy these last 2 or so weeks and haven't had much time to work on DMJ, however I've got a lot of spare time today and this weekend so I'm getting a chance to work on the project again. 

I've been learning a lot about Solidity lately, and  decided to use my new found knowledge and revamp the Solidity contract that is used to track IPFS uploads to the DMJ network. I made a lot of progress, and was able to reduce code size, as well as optimized some of the code. If all goes on track, I should be set to test the uploading of a file to IPFS, and the storage of it's verification data on the Ethereum blockchain in my smart contract this weekend, and maybe even tonight! Once I've tested that, I will work out a reward system for rewarding users with DMJ tokens for uploading content to the DMJ network.

I've got the mockup Python server almost done, I just need to code in the function to talk to the smart contract, and will be set to test out the demo network! Once I've got that done, I'll dig into IPFS and work out more robust, but still alpha, IPFS swarm/network.

I still have quite a bit of ways to go before I have an MVP ready, but have outlined the following objectives that will help me get there:

  • Finish the Smart Contract to track IPFS uploads
  • Create basic token reward system
  • Create a basic IPFS swarm/network
  • Implement basic livepeer system with a single client+server 


Long term DMJ objectives:

  • Modify livepeer to simultaneously stream, and store data to disk, and on the IPFS network
  • Create a mobile application to stream video data, and store data locally
  • Create a Dapp which can be used to interact with the smart contracts, and the DMJ network
  • Move to a storage backend to dual host on a decentralized storage network (ie SIA, STORJ) and also on IPFS for more redundant data storage.

If you, or anyone you know of would like to help contribute to this project feel free to leave a comment with a way for me to reach out! Still looking for people with the following skillsets (this is entirely volunteer based, however a portion of funds raised will be distributed amongst team members) :

  • Mobile Application Development
  • NodeJS Developer
  • Frontend Developer
  • Golang Developer
  • PR Person
  • Marketing Person

Currently I'm doing this entire project out of pocket, however if you would like to donate you can use any of the following addresses. Note that 25% of all funds raised will be donated to ACLU, an additional 25% will be donated to Amnesty International, 45% being distributed amongst team members depending on their level of contribution to the project, and 5% being used to maintenance of services used to keep this project going (Bitbucket, JIRA, servers, etc..):

  • ETH/Etheruem Tokens: 0x00e2EFA637A08fA51571D41E07DeEfF99B7C806c
  • BTC: 1E8F4xDqMNLGXu7UfYA4MAMxqst5mTXsf5
  • BCH: 1MQUN5a8yrumapw62mFB468m9CtpEipkWc
  • LTC: LR6VJFnxZYhN4eekUghz3YN1bbp6NBKPVb
  • NEO/GAS: Ac13JiLc4efGyhfkAZxTZ2THvWPoXjCyrS

As always, and upvote, follow, and/or resteem would be greatly appreciated to help get knowledge of this project spread.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69115.56
ETH 3736.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66