MY JOURNEY INTO THE CRAZY WORLD OF CRYPTOCURRENCY – part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

crazy crypto world.png

Hello Steemians!

This is not a tale of how I went from zero to one million dollars in 30 days. I think there’s enough of that on the internet already. However, this is a story of how I found myself to be part of the cryptocurrency frenzy that has gripped the world by its balls. There are also stories like mine. But like all great trends and innovations, each person has their own side of the story to tell.

I still remember when I first heard of ‘Bitcoin’ - It was back in 2012. A friend said to me “it’s a currency of its own”.
“Huh, a what?” I asked.

That’s when he started babbling about the new currency that will take down the traditional fiat currency we’ve all come to love so much. I could see the fire in his eyes while he talked. I knew it was in his heart too. It was that kind of fire that led George Washington to fight for America’s independence, the type that influences Donald Trump’s tweets and made Pablo Escobar think he was the savior of the Columbians.

Soon, I was both confused and excited from what he said. At that moment I could only think of one thing. I didn’t want to interrupt my friend because that would be considered rude. So, I let this question linger in my heart, and held it tightly like a drowning man clutching a straw. Finally he was done and I had my moment, so I asked.

“Can you use it to buy Suya – roasted meat?”

Immediately, the fire in his eyes died. It was completely gone, not even the embers remained.
“No” he replied.
“Then what sort of currency is that? It can’t even buy Suya. Nonsense!” Little did I know...

rubbish.jpg

Like all things novel to me, I began researching about it. At that time there wasn’t much material on the internet about #bitcoin or #cryptocurrency. I found it difficult to even wrap my head around the #blockchain technology. “If it eventually becomes something I will hear more about it.” I thought as I gave up on my research.

Well, it did become something. And it was worth so much that it could buy me Suya for every day for the next five years. But, that’s not the end to this story.
Watch out for the continuation of my crazy #crypto journey and an insight to what I’ve learnt so far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62