Updated Cryptocurrency Bank Spreadsheet

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

10 months ago I tweaked an existing spreadsheet to create the Cryptocurrency Bank Spreadsheet. I also updated it 8 months ago. I use a version of this spreadsheet myself almost every day. My version includes some buttons to refresh things and take portfolio snapshots, but I chose not to include those features here because they require you to grant access to the script to write to your spreadsheet, and I'd rather not train users to do things like that for security reasons. On this one, just manually change the number in the refresh sell to update the prices.

This spreadsheet is free for you to use. Just use this link to create a copy:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1bcPgtaE7FL0wTXpuMyc3jYBB9sOlQEZbb6A24hz3AXE/copy

Or you can preview it here:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1bcPgtaE7FL0wTXpuMyc3jYBB9sOlQEZbb6A24hz3AXE/edit

Seriously though, make a copy. Don't request access to edit it directly. If you're viewing it, go to:

File -> Make a Copy.

Even though the instructions clearly talk about making a copy, I've had over 50 people request access to the spreadsheet. Why are instructions so hard to follow? I have no idea. Instead, follow the instructions, make a copy, and update it however you like. If you're using a copy of the older version, I recommend using this one instead so it will work more consistently for you.

Major changes in this update:

  • I removed reliance on the CryptoCompare API. After many months of talking with one of their developers, hoping to have individual tokenized access to the API so the Google Sheets IP address wouldn't get rate limited, we ended up deciding it would be better to rebuild things to pull all currencies at once instead of individually. Once I looked into doing that, I figured using the CoinMarketCap data made more sense since some of the currencies I own were not properly listed on CryptoCompare and most people use CoinMarketCap anyway. It also greatly simplified the code to not use the legacy stuff in the spreadsheet I originally started with.

  • I've added ETH as a trading pair. This is very helpful for when you're buying something on exchanges like EtherDelta and they price things in ETH. Sometimes when you buy something, it may or may not be a good trade later depending on which currency pair you used at the time. Keeping track of the pairs you used is helpful for making better decisions in the future.

I know there are many other spreadsheets and tools out there now, so feel free to use what works best for you. A mobile app I've been enjoying lately is Coin Stats. Here's my referral link if you want to check that out for IOS.

I hope the traders out there are having fun with all this volatility and the holders are confident in the future value they'll someday enjoy.

For more information about this spreadsheet, please see the original post.

Some things to keep in mind with cryptocurrency:

I hope you're having a great day! Also, wow, thank you to those who welcomed my sister @karaelizabeth to Steemit. Her first post got over 3,600 views and 430 comments! That's amazing. :)


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, STEEM witness, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

This is very helpful. As a crypto trader,any tool can be of help in buying and selling. The volatility in the market now very high. At present, I am chilling and watching the market. SBD did a good one though.

Nice dude. Have you checked out Hodlerfolio? It was created by @steemir-app and does not seem to have gotten much attention.

That's pretty cool. Thanks for spreading the word about it.

Thanks for the spreadsheet. I may build off of this and see where I can go with it. Now I have second thoughts on my investments regarding decentralized exchanges. I just do not understand than why Binance, Bittrex, and Poloniex have so much volume traded. I made an investment to Kucoin but it is also a centralized exchange. May flip it to Crypto-Bridge now considering how important it is to always hold my own keys. Thanks.

It's rule number one. Control our private keys. As to why more people aren't using BitShares? I have no idea. It's kind of like a chicken and egg problem. People don't use it because it doesn't have enough volume for the pairs they want to trade. There isn't enough volume because people don't use it.

Nice spreadsheet. Good man for sharing with people.

I've been meaning to create something like that (albeit not as sophisticated as yours)...thanks for sharing it! I'll give you a 100% vote for it :)

THANK YOU

Great post my friend..I appreciate your post..Thanks ..

Resteemit...

Great stuff, thanks @lukestokes!

One thing I need excess to copi? Helps plz

Just click the link in my post that ends with the word "copy."

That's it.

Ow sry it was a joke, you are too kind

Now that we used the spreadsheet and got out of debt what do we do with the extra as Crypto Currency is Down and bank don’t want to give much 0.001 and Beam Bank says we have to watch ads to get 4%

I'm not sure what you're talking about? If you have cryptocurrency, hold it. I like DPOS coins (BTS, STEEM, EOS) and think they have a good chance at a higher future value.

Sigh, one day I'll have the time to be this organized.

Thanks for sharing in hopes that one day I become this organized! lol.

It's fun for me. Kind of like organizing my collectables. :)

OK I have it my computer now, I'll see if I can use it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31