You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BIG Things! @ned at Consensus 2018 - The Legality of Content Takedowns (GDPR) & SMT Communities That Don't Use Stake Weighted Voting!

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

The situation of hosting the blockchain seems very simular to running a usenet node. It was my understanding when Sys Admining in the early '90's that protection was found in Common Carrier laws.

Among the powers granted to the FCC was the ability to classify a communication organization as a “common carrier” under Title II of the act.

My friend who ran that portal explained it as this:

The carrier must provide its service in a way that is agnostic to the goods being transported. Because being impartial often means not looking into the package, common carriers are typically given an exemption for shuttling illegal goods; if a package was found to contain illegal contents, the sender or receiver (and not the carrier) would be held liable under a common carrier exemption.

Like UPS. You have t be carefu never to gt involved in what things folks have you transport because as soon as you comment to one fok about not liking their stuff you suddenly are responsible for everyones stuff. You have to be hnds off or not. If hands on yeah you are respnsible for everything, if hands off you are like hey I just carry kilos of mass, none of my business whats in it

This is not meant as legal advice yet saw stuff going through that usenet feed that would be illigal if found on one's private computer, in my un-legally trained opinion. 😎

It was cool to see that STINC is preparing block blacklists that could be easily distributed should witnesses desire the same level of censorship as STINC.

Sort:  

My understanding is that the moment the carrier becomes aware that they are 'carrying' 'illegal' things, they become obliged to take action to change the situation. This is part of why some sites take the position that they simply won't look at their content. However, as soon as content is flagged in one way or another, it becomes the carrier's responsibility.

In our case, to get something removed from 400+ witness nodes, begins by filtering at the rpcs for further inputs, but then would require a chain fork to re-ledger the chain if data was removed from validated blocks. But private registration information better not be in the chain, only public information, so I'm not entirely sure what the issue is. If you issue a take down of your private info on a blockchain, it means erasing the keys on your OWN computer or not putting stuff in a post or comment or wallet memo, you dont want public in the first place.

But private registration information better not be in the chain, only public information, so I'm not entirely sure what the issue is. If you issue a take down of your private info on a blockchain, it means erasing the keys on your OWN computer or not putting stuff in a post or comment or wallet memo, you dont want public in the first place.

I'm not really sure what you are saying here. The GDRP states that if a data controller or processor stores data about an identifiable natural person on their system, then that person has the right to edit or remove it. That cannot be done on an uneditable blockchain, for starters.

Precisely, but, a block chain is a public record of transactions. Not a private store of user information.

If you are right, then the first thing I'm going to do is send a nasty letter to the us government to force them to remove my public information from all their records, starting with the IRS, the justice department and all the state police departments and sheriffs departments that have ever collected a thing about me. Poof, screw you America, Europe said I could disappear! :)

You aren't a European citizen ;)
Besides which, there are exclusions in the GDRP for 'law enforcement' and related systems.
But I am right and you should send the letter asap! :)

I'm not, but my daughter has dual citizenship with the UK, does that buy her a ticket?

I will speak to the German Queen of England and see what she says.. I'll call the butler immediately.. one moment.

Remind her my last name proves I too am of Germanic (and Polish) descent...

You tell that Mrs Saxe-Coburg so-and-so we want our data erased or we won't send any wedding presents to Meghan and Harry next week, and I mean it!

BY the way - I've spent some time on this myself, since our system is being made GDPR compliant under my direction as VP of Tech, it falls on me and my department to ensure readiness. We have to be able to eliminate any data about you, in runtime or archives such as backups, even offline filing cabinets.

But on the blockchain, this is more like saying the new york times has to seek out and burn every piece of paper they ever printed, including those in your house and every subscriber or purchasers house.

Yeah. No. The block chain is effectively a data store of personal information like the newspaper is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62406.70
ETH 3184.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79