You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nobody wants to pay taxes, but everyone does

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

The important thing you didn't say about the early history of taxes is that they were only levied on conquered people and exceptionally in times of war. The ubiquity if taxation is an outgrowth of the total state of modern times, the historical precedent is far smaller than you claim.

I think you should also be wary of calling any extraction of wealth a "tax". Inflation is not a tax, but it is effectively wealth extraction.

Also interesting note, if you put gold bars in your vault instead of dollar bills you'd have a very reliable store of wealth on the whole.

Sort:  

I think you should also be wary of calling any extraction of wealth a "tax". Inflation is not a tax, but it is effectively wealth extraction.

Correct, but for the sake of argument I'm making the equivalence.. at the end of they day it comes down to the same thing... if they can't tax the money they want to spend for the over bloated governmental structures, they just take the wealth from the constituency.

Yes, no disagreement there.

And there were two other points.

I won't lie.. my thoughts lately have been heavily inspired by some of the ideas from Yanis Varoufakis, have you read any of his stuff?

He also has some nice speeches... I don't agree with everything of course, but he makes some strong points.

I have not. I'm not that familiar with his positions so I shouldn't really comment. Would you like to go into more detail?

I'm sure plenty more writings will be influenced by some of his ideas... but in all honesty, the whole conversation is so complex, it would talk a wall of text for me to explain it all....

Tell you what... Listen to this...

Give it a good chance.... listen to just the speech, its not as long as the video... This video peaked my curiosity enough that I got the book soon after.

Sure, why not 😁 Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63659.40
ETH 3075.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01