Here are my favorite crypto tools & resources. What are yours?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago


Here's a quick run down of what I use day to day in my crypto world. 

1. Market Summary

  • I use coinmarketcap.com to check the current overall crypto market cap and to get a feel for the volume movers of the day. I like to tap the "view all" button and see the run down of the 1hr/24hr/7day % changes for each coin to see what's trending and in which direction. It also gives me a quick feel for the overall market/coin strength.

2. Exchanges

  • I use Coinbase to get my fiat into and out of crypto. Usually I buy into Litecoin and transfer it over to an exchange that way for quicker processing and cheaper fees. They're not my favorite, but since I live in Washington state they're pretty much my only option. 
  • Bittrex is my primary crypto exchange. I've been really happy with them overall so far. Not much in the way of looks, but it does the job. I almost started with Poloniex, but I've heard such horrible things about them that I'm glad I went the Bittrex route.

3. Hot Wallets

  • Exodus is by far my favorite hot wallet. Gorgeous interface and very user friendly. I love the built in Shapeshift too.

4. Cold Wallets

  • For most of my cold wallets I use the core wallet for the coin or make a paper wallet. I use Armory for my Bitcoin at the moment but I don't really recommend it. It hasn't seen much development lately and it's just the one that I went with when I bought my first Bitcoin years ago. It's a stop gap for me until i get my.....
  • Ledger Nano S, which is on back order and I'm anxiously awaiting it's arrival so that it can become another option for some of my coins.
  • I use 1Password to store all of my paper wallets, private keys and encryption passwords. It's a great central place to keep all that information that protected in a digitally encrypted local database.

5. Charting & Technical Analysis

  • Right now I'm using Coinigy for all my charting. They integrate with most all of the exchanges and the interactive charts are great. The downside is that they only have a 30 day free trial then you have to pay a monthly membership fee. I like Tradingview.com better, but they don't support Bittrex yet so it's missing some of my key trading pairs. They do however plan to support it soon, and as soon as they do I'll be switching over because they don't charge the monthly fee like Coinigy.

6. Mobile Apps

  • I use Blockfolio on my iPhone to track all my trades and current portfolio value. I know some Steemians aren't fans, but I find the app just works and does what I need. I'm not to worried about the data I put in there because my coins are never at risk and it's great to be able to check in on my portfolio and where coins are trading while on the go.

7. Staying Informed

  • I hit up Coindesk for my major headlines
  • Reddit and Bitcoin Talk for all the current coins I'm paying attention to (which I can spend hours on!)
  • If I have some time I'll also check out youtube for Cryptobud and Box Mining videos
  • I'll also visit the website, twitter and other official pages for the coins I'm in to see what news is coming out

So, that's a wrap on everything I use to stay up to date and in play in my crypto world. What about you? Got any tips, tools or resources to share? I'd love to hear them.


(Image from Exodus.io)


Sort:  

Same for the first 3.

I would like to get a ledger nano, but I'm not in a huge rush. it will eventually happen.

I don't do charting, but I'm a big believer in watching the order books on Bittrex.

I don't have any crypto mobile apps.

Staying inform is just twitter and youtube. :)

Do you use any passive interest websites like Bitconnect or Control-Finance? (I would shill my referral link, but I would just be curious of your opinion of them)

Yeah, I like watching the order books on Bittrex as well, I use the charting for looking long term and determining my entry and exit points.

At the moment I'm using NEO for all my passive income. The gas it pays out isn't very liquid at the moment, but I really like the platform and roadmap so I think the potential growth and current interest rate is worth it.

I hadn't heard of Control-Finance before, have you been using them? What are your thoughts? Do you use Bitconnect as well?

I use bitconnect. In fact, they invited me to the promoters event happening in Thailand on August, 9th. I got my tickets, and will let you know how it went. I also have a good friend from Alaska coming, and he will take footage and upload it on youtube. I will be sure to link it for you, if you would like.

Also, @raised2b sorry that I missed this post...

  • I also use coinbase and bittrex

  • I like Exodus, but since it doesn't support many alts, I use Electrum

  • And I do love Reddit for some opinions on up and coming coins

Interesting, I'd definitely love to hear your thoughts when you get back from the event. Is your travel and lifestyle being funded by your crypto trading at this point?

Don't have to answer, just curious because it seems like you've got a good thing going :)

My life always seems exciting to a lot of my Army buddies also...

Truth be told, I sit inside more often than not :)

It's mainly because of the weather where I currently live. In Cebu City, it is usually 85 degrees with 100% humidity... On top of the stickiness, there is a lot of air pollution.

So, that is why next year, me and my Filipina girlfriend will be moving to South America. And... My life will be considerably better.

And as for how I make money, it has been from dividend interest that I have been piling up for years... So I am slowly dipping into that, and jumping into crypto.

Thanks for asking!

_Rob

I hear ya, we were stationed in Okinawa for a bit and that temp and humidity combo is killer. We didn't have to deal with the air pollution though, god that sounds horrible.

Are you guys waiting on visas or something else to finish up before heading to South America?

Cool that you've stockpiled a nice enough chunk of change to live off the divis, that's my plan too, just wish I would've started a long time ago :)

Do you invest into ICOs? If so, I'd love for you to try this one. We just launched our platform called Basescore, where we aggregate ICO reviews from the leading critics, ie. ICO Bench, FoundICO, Crypto Briefing, etc. onto one platform to help users find information on ICOs faster and easier.

Still early days for us, but it already has over 7,400 reviews, and being updated everyday! Try it out at https://basescore.co

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69331.49
ETH 3676.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.24