Follow Up On – “Crazy Idea: Ending Homelessness With CryptoCurrency”

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Last summer I wrote about my crazy idea for ending homelessness with CryptoCurrency.

The post is here: Crazy Idea: Ending Homelessness With CryptoCurrency

I never gave an update, but I see, that I still get comments on it every now and then, so I figured you all very much deserved an update.

I tried my best at finding local NGO’s that would accept cryptocurrency. I reached out through my network to hear, if it was at all possible, but unfortunately it seemed, that it was not. I promised to give the proceeds of the original post to an NGO, so I decided to donate Danish kroner instead of crypto, since that did not seem possible.

I have done an anonymous donation of 100 Danish kroner (about $16) to a local NGO providing food and sleeping equipment. I believe this donation should have covered the payouts and then some, if my calculations were not totally off.

I will keep trying to hear if crypto donations could at all be possible in a near future, but I unfortunately cannot promise anything at all.

For people in Denmark wanting to know what NGO I donated to: “Projekt Udenfor”.

Sort:  

It saddens me that a charity won't accept a donation because they can't accept crypto. Blockchain will do wonders for charities in the future. I know there are charity coins with transparency so you can see who and how your donations helps. This is great as I know currently some people are cautious about which charities they give to as some don't give 100% of the money to the cause they support.

What are the charity coins currently being used, if any? Must admit, I haven't heard of them.

But yea, I think this tech can really help with transparency and peer-to-peer charity in general, which is a great thing indeed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55