My own S&P 500 for crypto

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)


I own about 140 different cryptocurrencies. Basically the top 140 from coinmarketcap.com. I aim for equal distribution by market cap, which right now is around 40% bitcoin, 25% Ethereum, and 35% alt coins.

I'm 44 and have invested my retirement savings, now about $100k into target retirement date funds. If I was picking my own mutual fund outside my employer's plan, I like the S&P 500 the best. I don't own any individual stocks and don't have desire to.

Is anyone else doing this? I know Iconomi and other coins aim to be mutual funds. I don't want to do that because I basically don't trust them.

I like crypto currency because it represents cutting out the middleman, no 3rd party, no company or business, and no government between me and others I'm sharing the crypto with. I hold my bitcoin and ethereum on trezor and paper wallets generated on my airgap PC. I hold Ripple at Gatehub. I have minimal cash at coinbase for scheduled repeat buys, before moving it elsewhere. I do keep about 80 tiny coins on exchanges, most worth $10 each because I don't have time or interest to run nodes or wallets for each coin I buy.

I've been buying crypto for the last 3 years at the rate of $50 per month and I'm considering raising that to $100 per month. With $1800 in, my balance is about $15K after taking some out for some crypto related supplies and fun. I dream of the day where I can direct deposit half my paycheck into crypto. My partner is preventing that more than technology at the moment though.

Do any of you guys try making your own "S&P 500" or am I the only crazy one? I think it'd be cool if someone would invent a fund where I could have 500 minus 10 and have the fund exclude the top 10 coins so I can maintain them myself in my own wallets. If Bittrex can't even own the top 200 coins, how can I expect anyone else to. For now I think I want to keep doing this on my own.

Sort:  

How are you able to manage 140 cryptos? Which exchanges do you use?

Coinbase and Bittrex are my main exchanges. Others are Liqui, bitfinnex, etherdelta, gatebub, hitbtc, and and more. I don't use poloniex because my us state doesn't support it. I don't have a vpn account yet, but getting one next. I've participated in a out 5 ICOs so far. Most for $10.

Very interesting post @raymetz100 . Congrats on your success through your in-depth crypto investment efforts so far. I think it's a great idea to look at the cryptosphere as a whole. There's currently 997 coins listed on coinmarketcap ..........hmmmm......

So far, I've done well mainly with BTC and Steem, but I've only been at it since last Sept. I've messed around on a smaller level with other coins, mainly to educate myself. I'd like to expand my investment strategy and I'm very intrigued with your ideas :)

Great post. I must follow you b/c you are definitely smarter than I am. I like to learn, that's what I do best! Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68