uPort Needs a Phone Number?

uport.jpg

I saw that Gnosis was ready to release their initial offering Olympia and is setting up a temporary test network with a game using tokens. The rules are set out here: https://olympia.gnosis.pm/gamerules

I was interested in trying this out but then noticed that I had to set up a uPort identity. This got me interested in what they were working on. As I looked into it I realised they are doing something similar to what Vinny Lingham is doing with Civic. It is good to see competing technologies similar to how Gnosis competes with Augur, Storj competes with Siacoin and now uPort is competing with Civic.

I downloaded and installed the uPort app on Android. Upon setup they wanted my phone number and wanted to verify it with a text message. I have nothing to hide but this step seemed a bit intrusive. This tool is supposed to be an identity I control and decide what information is connected to the identity. I realise that connecting a phone number to this identity is a very good way to add some credibility to an identity, but again this should be my choice.

I have noticed this trend creeping into the crypto world. Whenever I try to get a Ripple wallet I am prompted to add my first and last name along with other details. I guess this is just our traditional banks and government trying to set up the regulations and control they are used to having. I guess it is up to us as individuals to use the technologies that gives us the level of privacy that we are looking for ourselves.

Rumble

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68208.95
ETH 3894.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69