Seeking your suggestions for Mining coins from a home computer

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Hi All,

I've been part of the crypto world since September of last year and very recently I've been fascinated with the idea of mining coins as a additional source of income from home.

First of all this is basic rig which I am planning to upgrade my 7 year old to:

  1. Graphics Card - Gigabyte Geforce GT 710 2GB DDR5 Graphics Card (GV-N710D5-2GL) (ALREADY PURCHASED)
  2. Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-H110M-S2 Socket LGA 1151 Motherboard
  3. Processor - Intel Core i7 - 6th Gen
  4. HyperX Fury Black 8GB 2133MHz CL14 DDR4 Internal Memory

Now I know your first reactions would be that I have very under powered rig. My biggest concern is my budget at this point of time and hence can't put up a too big a rig at this point but I am willing to consider a better rig.

Secondly, my electricity cost is roughly $0.16 per unit (I have taken a higher slab considering I will end up reaching this while using more power)

Thirdly, I am uncertain what coin should I consider for mining from home. Should I go for Monero? Sia Coin? Steem? or anything else. This is one area which I am not sure. I am ok to work on a lower valued coin as of now which may give me 10-20% profitability in 2 months time.

Or do you guys think I am wasting my time with the rig I have in mind. Again I reiterate I am willing to put in $600 - $650 for upgrades if you suggest that's feasible.

Looking for some suggestions

This image is for reference

Sort:  

I would suggest mining bytecoin. You can do it with cpu or gpu if you use minergate. You can get a lot of coins because there are a ton out there currently. Actually 183 B. It’s not worth much now $0.0065 but if it jumps up in price to $1 one day I’ll make a killing. It’s also in the top 30 right now and has the lowest barrier to entry.

That's a good suggestion. I will try bytecoin.

burstcoin maybe brother

Thanks. I'll look that up. Any suggestions on my proposed rig. Or your suggestions on a possible rig under $700-$800 budget?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61367.99
ETH 2929.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67