Blockchain Used to Protect Copyright Usage?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

I have to admit, when I first read about KodakCoin, and how Kodak was going to somehow use blockchain as a method to protect usage rights of photographers... I was pretty excited.

Granted, my actual knowledge of how blockchain works is very limited... but from what I've read, it could be the perfect approach to ensuring all sorts of intellectual property are tracked and monitored for unauthorized use. Is that not the case?

It was only a few weeks ago that Kodak announced, but now I'm reading the NYT is calling the whole effort "dubious". Really? Why couldn't blockchain and a crypto approach be used to monitor and protect all sorts of intellectual online property... from photographs, to art, to music, etc.?

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/30/technology/kodak-blockchain-bitcoin.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75