Back To The Mine!

riggs.JPG

This isn't my rig, but I wish it was!

I have been working on my mining rig off and on for the past few weeks. I used to run a few different Asic miners for Bitcoin...but it started getting boring and expensive! I was mining Bitcoin, BitcoinCash, and some others, but it's almost the warm weather and my basement doesn't need all that heat while I'm trying to keep the rest of the house cool!

I started mining to challenge myself and my brain, then it became so fun to watch how much I was making each day...now I'm trying to challenge my brain mining with GPUs. There have been a bunch of really simple celebrations and equally simple things that have frustrated me.

CPU: The main brain of the computer. I made sure I have a quad core Intel chip, and I keep it cool with a liquid cooler and fan.

RAM: How fast the computer can think. I am using an old motherboard, but I'm lucky that I've squeezed almost 16 gb of ram on it. It's not all always recognized, but it's fast!

SSD Hard Drive: Where stuff gets stored. SSD is so much faster than a spinning disc! Even booting the computer takes only a handful of seconds.

PSU: Power supply for computer, and for all the gpus.

Risers: Give the GPUs some space.

GPUs: Graphics Processing Units...that's what is doing all the big work! The more GB the better!

So all my hardware is running well. I've mined before and figured this would be easy...but then comes configuring and setting up. With a lot of trial and error I have almost been successful...right now I'm struggling with some CUDA issues.

CGminer is able to run, everything fires up...but I'm mining at a snail's pace, even though my graphics cards are CUDA enabled! Now I'm eager to get out of work to try and get it all perfect!

Thanks for reading
:)

Sort:  

Set up a GPU rig 4 years ago. It was super finicky to get it right. Used CGminer back then too. It seemed on my cards if you chose all the variables for the cards instead of letting them default it worked worlds better. My cards ran about 15 degrees colder and faster once I dialed in the settings with 0 hardware errors. It was a lot of fun tuning them. Reminded me of setting different fuel ratios for different RPM on a bike. Lol! Happy mining! I should build another rig.

Thanks for the reply! I switched everything over to CCminer and have had more luck thus far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61750.97
ETH 2886.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63