I Miss Mining Crypto...No Longer!

mining.jpg
Ok, so I totally understand that it's not always the most profitable to mine cryptocurrencies. I get it. The machines are costly, GPU prices soared in the past and seem to be coming down a little bit, the power supplies for the machines are expensive, paying for electricity can be a pain in the ass, maintaining the mining equipment can be time consuming, and on top of all that...the crypto market is unpredictable!

ant.jpg

I have been mining crypto to varying degrees for the past few years. I recently sold most of my machines on eBay to help pay for some more crypto that I was trying to accrue. My machines were costing hundreds of dollars a month in electricity, and that was money that may have been more worthwhile to just directly invest into the market instead of trying to mine my money back. Then...my house seemed so quiet...and cold! The fans and humming from my machines was calming to always hear in the house, and going to the basement didn't require wearing a hoodie and mittens. I began to miss just watching the screens as they were hashing, the lights...even the warning beeps when something went wrong so I needed to fix it.

I'm a problem solver. I love to figure stuff out and make things work. Since I was little I used to take apart my alarm clocks and tape players...now I've just upgraded my thinking and ability. I found an old motherboard in my basement last week, got a CPU chip on Ebay, grabbed some Ram, a cheap SSD drive....and now I'm going to start mining again. Not for profit..just because I miss it! I love to build and fix and figure out where things can be improved. I know I'm not going to strike it rich with mining...that's why I invest, buy, trade and HODL!

I have a handful of different GPUs coming to me from a bunch of different places. I didn't spend a lot and I don't plan on spending anything else really at this point. Most of my parts are used and old, but able to work and be tweaked. I'm psyched to get back into it and looking forward as well to investigating all the other cryptos that can be mined besides the usual Bitcoin, Litecoin or Ethereum.

motherboard.jpg

Thanks for reading!

Feel free to comment, upvote, resteem, love or hate!

-Respect

Sort:  

sounds easier to invest in a pool or something like Minerone ? interesting to read the personal side of it tho.

I do have some money in Hashflare...but it's always nice to mine a little...even if I'm not making too much. Also, I'm definitely going to be running a node as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56