Crypto Newbie Investor Perspective - BLOG-002 (Good, Bad and Ugly) Experiences

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago

Blockchain -the world next revolution:

After listening to Richie Etwaru, discussing opportunities and implications of blockchain technology, expanding on how it is addressing what he called the "trust gap" in the way we conduct business. I became completely convinced that blockchain technology and the entire crypto-space is the  next BIG thin that will revolutionize the world. I totally believed that that this technology is going to revolutionize the world at the same order of magnitude if NOT higher than the previous technological revolutions:

Source: TEDx Morristown, May 15 2017,

1. the printing press revolution in 1400s which addressed the knowledge gap 

2. the engine revolution in 1800s which addressed the power gap

3. the internet revolution in the 1900s which addressed the distance gap

I stumbled on this TEDx Talk video below around July/August 2017. This was part of my baby steps towards informing myself about this new phenomenon.

  TEDx Morristown, published on May 15 2017

Prior listening to this talk I had already heard a bit about the blockchain and had participated in few Initial Coin Offering (ICO):

1. STRATIS Token Sale in July 2016

2. DECENT Token Sale in September 2016

3. PLUTUS Token Sale in March 2017

The following are Q/A  about some of my experience:

1. Am I better off now than then?

Looking back now, what I can say is whatever is highlighted  above is in a small way the foundation of what I have become and achieved to date in the crypto-space. Not much, but certainly significantly above my ground zero. As highlighted in my #introduceyourself blog, I aim to share my personal journey and experience in the crypto space, good, bad and ugly experiences which I had in the crypto space in the past three years.

2. Any regrets?

Yes,I failed to learn sufficiently enough, to know what to do in different phases / cycle of the crypto market. I made more bad decisions than good ones, however, overall I am still better off than if I never got involved.

3. Which mistakes are you able to identify that you made then?

plenty, here are just but a few: While I made a good call to participate in the Stratis ICO, to date I do not have a single stratis coin,  the sad part is that I sold all of the coins for peanuts, just for instant gratification. Why? I did not know better then, I will expand on this point in the next blog. At the time of writing this blog, STRATIS  is the second ever most profitable ICO after Etherium (ROI - 44,611%),   It current Return On Investment (ROI is 11,702%)  What this means is that the initial coin offering value has approximately 12,000X https://tokentops.com/stats/

4. Any Lessons Learnt?:

Hosea 4:6 -"My people perish for lack of knowledge ..."  The more you know in any given subject or matter, the less you will perish in that very specific subject or matter. It goes without saying that to the degree you know less, to that degree, you will perish in that area. This is some of the things  I have learnt  :

1. Patience pays ....  

2. knowledge and/or lack of it thereof, is going to separate the winners from the losers in the crypto-space

3.  I need to educate myself  more and more everyday in this space to minimize my misfortunes. 

 4.  I should treat my past failures as a stepping stones towards avoiding making the same mistakes in the future, when I am presented with the same opportunity.  

5. What will you cover in the next blog?

In the next blog we shall explorer what happened to the tokens I purchased, to appreciate my mistakes, hopefully to learn from them. This is my own way of trying to introspect and self evaluate to hopefully improve. if you are new or intend to get into this crypto space , it will be great if we could take this journey together @taterb . I would like to conclude by appreciating @RichieEtwaru for this great talk which certainly inspired me .

Sort:  

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

@taterb, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Congratulations @taterb! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome to steemit @taterb.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75