The Trend Continues: Another Major Club Launching Their Own Cryptocurrency

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Alt Text

Just last week, the news broke that Paris Saint-Germain, one of the most popular sports clubs in the world are launching their own cryptocurrency.

That was certainly a fantastic news for the sector due to the fact that PSG has millions upon millions of fans all around the globe. So I decided to write about it.

That post was titled Tokenization of the Web: The Game Has Already Started.

It was clear that the first shots were fired, and personally, I was certain that many more clubs would follow suit and that we were standing before a trend that was soon to emerge, and PSG was not an anomaly.

In fact, I ended that post with this sentence:

“My guess is, this is just the beginning and there will be many more partnerships between cryptocurrencies and all kinds of popular institutions.”.

Now, I have to confess that when I typed those words I was referring to the coming months/years and certainly not within merley a few days.

And that’s why I was so happily surprised when I found out that Juventus was launching their own token as well.

Much like PSG, La Vecchia Signora (The Old Lady, Juve’s nickname) is also one of the most popular sports club in the world, in fact their brand is even bigger now after signing Cristiano Ronaldo, the single most popular athlete in the world.

And also just like the French club, their signature token was launched with the goal to give their fans a voice, and reward the most engaged members of their audience.

Alt Text

Taking into consideration the vast magnitude of these two clubs’ audiences, it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to realize the positive impact this is going to have in terms of public adoption.

An important aspect to take into consideration is that these things do not happen from one day to the other, and these clubs were probably working on their cryptocurrency projects for a while. Just the legal part alone takes it fair share of time.

So it’s not like Juventus ‘felt jealous’ of PSG and immediately launched their own cryptocurrency, but they probably have been working on that for quite a bit as well.

Which begs the question: How many popular institutions are currently working on their blockchain projects behind closed doors?

In my latest post I pondered about that question precisely.

I did some research and I found out that PWC Global had recently launched a survey with 600 executives from big mainstream companies in order to assess the state of blockchain adoption at a large scale.

The results were fascinating as an impressive 84% revealed that they were already involved with blockchain technology, with 32% already at a development stage.

Alt Text

Things are currently being built as we speak and as the markets turn to green in the coming months, don’t be surprised to see more major enterprises start announcing their own tokens.

When that happens, it would seem as it happened from one day to another. Television would probably attach that to the hype or ‘the bubble’. Maybe part of it is true, but nothing really happens overnight.

Luckily, we have a great takeaway here because maybe we are already in a phase where a lot of major developments are already being built as we speak.

Let’s take these two new examples, once the FTOs (Fan Token Offerings) start being distributed, the dogma behind cryptocurrencies will start to evaporate little by little as we approach the tipping point when the common man start finally stops fearing a new idea as they start seeing everyone around them adopting it.

“The tipping point is that magic moment when an idea, trend, or social behavior crosses a threshold, tips, and spreads like wildfire.”
― Malcolm Gladwell, The Tipping Point

Alt Text

Maybe this will sound a little too adventurous, but I won’t be surprised if another major sports club would also announce their very own cryptocurrency soon.

If I had to bet, I’d say it will be Barcelona. I had my suspicions about that for a while since Rakuten (the club’s main sponsor) are not only launching their own cryptocurrency, but they are allocating 9 billion dollars in ‘loyalty program awards’ to attract more users and reward engagement.

They are also creating communities with moderators and administrators to reward participation around multiple niches.

Coincidently, the feature preview took place between Hiroshi Mikitani (Rakuten’s president) with personal friend and business partner Gerard Piqué who just happens to be Barcelona’s fourth Captain.

One thing is seems to be certain though, Fan Token Offerings is starting to gain some serious traction.

And this is just the beginning.

Alt Text

Image Sources: 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5

Sort:  

ronaldo........players favorit me.

i like

He's an amazing player with a spectacular career no doubt.

Like you say, many more clubs will launch their own tokens. The problem will be fan adoption. Can they make it easy for their average non-crypto fans to get their hands on the tokens without going through the usual rigmarole to obtain them?

If the answer is yes, we can offer the fans our tokens simply through the club website. Then it'll be a hit, if not, my guess is it will crash n burn...for now.

Cg

That's an interesting question. From what I gathered, there will be a new platform in Socios.com dedicated to each club, and each club's page has its fair share of niches and forums.

The payouts will be in an internal wallet on the site (like steemit for example) but how to trade the currency is something that I don't know.

But yeah, you raise and important question.

Hmm, will keep a close eye on this one. Waiting for the Arsenal coin :-)

Cg

I upvoted your post.

Cheers to you.
@Pinoy

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thank you @pinoy! Cheers :)

It was only a matter of time before big organisations would develop their own to get involved in an emerging and growing in popularity thing like cryptocurrency. My excitement will be when there are more widespread usage in everyday life in the years to come and we could essentially just make money with crypto, then use it to buy things we need everyday.

Yeah you're right, it was only a matter of time. I think the excitement time isn't there yet as you say, but rather now we are in the phase where things are developing under the table.

Btw, I can't wait for the day that crypto is used as money either.

This is a great piece, Thanks. Things are going to be interesting!

Thanks Antov! Things are indeed shaping up that way :)

Hellow friends

please guide me, will I be my teacher here

please guide me, will I be my teacher here

Adoption here adoption there :D Nice to hear that everyone wants to use crypto nowadays. I can't imagine what will happen in the next bull run

Yeah that's a great point. I guess many will take advantage of the next bull run to announce the projects they have been building all along.

This is good news for the crypto world and fans with the token offering, but what will it mean? Will it be a way to hold shares in the company? I can’t really see how a sports team creating a crypto will benefit us or them? I’m not against the idea at all, I just don’t see how it will function. I know you said the fan token offering, but I wonder if it will shift to essentially holding share in the company

That's an very interesting news. Maybe more clubs are following. It would be great if the fans could participate. As many clubs have their online-shops fans could get rewarded with crypto.

Let the trend continues on and we will see something interesting in this year end for sure :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56