Steem as a Method of International Wealth DistributionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

From wealthy citizens of the world to the less well off, Steem could be the great equalizer and a method for wealth distribution. 

On this site it doesn't matter if your national minimum wage is $15 USD or $1.50 USD, you have the opportunity to see your work upvoted, your Steem power-up, and potentially cash out enough to supplement your income quite nicely.

In Indonesia the minimum wage is about $1/hour. I don't know much about minimum wage jobs in non-G8 nations, I'm a bit willfully ignorant on the whole thing... how else could I buy cheap electronics or clothing and still sleep at night? I assume these jobs are tough! 

Go into an internet cafe, log into steemit, share some content, make some comments, contribute to the community, and even if you "only" receive $2 that's still like working 2 hours. If you're more popular, more dedicated, luckier, making $10, $50, $100 is eventually possible.

As Steemit grows, and STEEM rises in value we could see more and more people coming here. More money being invested in the currency. Crypto exists largely outside any monetary system, money from the USA can flow, through STEEM, into the accounts of people living, and steeming, in impoverished nations.

Imagine a time, some number of years down the road, where steemit has a good chunk of traffic, it could very well be that people living in countries where making $100,000 a year isn't unheard of could be upvoting for $1 someone who gets to avoid a day of backbreaking labor. 

Someone cashing out $100 might be able to help their family. 

Someone cashing out $10,000 might irrevocably change their whole community for the better.

In a land without borders; where opinions, influence, esteem and ideas fetterlessly fly; we might see economic resources act in step. Those with so much may effortlessly and naturally be contributing to a system where all of humankind benefits.

Sort:  

Great article. I love it. This is my second day on steemit and there are so many great people on here. You are definitely one of them! Wishing you the best of health and happiness. I am upvoting and following you :)

Thanks a lot! Welcome. I appreciate the comment, as you can tell by my posts I'm trying to get something going here, but so far it's like I'm screaming into the void. Check your wallet, I'm sending you a STEEM.

Who knows, it might be worth $20,000 one day :)

Words cannot express my appreciation for the STEEM!! You were the first person to gift me a STEEM!! You gave me my first STEEM!! You really made me SO HAPPY! I will never forget this!! Thanks again my Friend!! :)

Cheers! Just remember me when you are cruising on your yacht haha!

You have my word my Friend! :)

Awesome article and I can Steemians are all divine sacred beings - good job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66