You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Too Eye See Oh or not Two Aye Cee Owe?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

I am not sure I share your enthusiasm for ICOs BB @bitbrain, tokens have been massively overvalued, lack liquidity, have dubious utility and have attracted the wrong kind of investors (impatient, disloyal retail investors).

Very few ICO tokens will survive this bear market and I wouldn't be surprised to see lots of these start-ups go under in 2019.

I think for the next few years most of the money will be made by investing in core protocols: Bitcoin, Ethereum etc.

Here's an interesting read from Ari Paul:

https://thecryptocurrencyinvestor.com/2018/06/22/early-stage-valuations-fall-to-earth/

Sort:  

I think the Ari Paul article is too bearish and 2018 flavoured for my liking. I understand where he is coming from: it's written as a counter to the 2017 ICO hype and massive profits no matter how bad the ICO. I believe that the truth and some sort of "fair valuation" for ICOs lies somewhere between that 2017 hype and what he has written. I think that the bear market has made it easy for people to forget just what a revolutionary technology blockchains is and just how much it will grow and be used.

Fair point mate, there are some diamonds in the rough for sure :)

Thanks for the input (and the link). Yes, perhaps I did not highlight the downsides enough. Most ICOs will fail. Most. A lot of people will lose a lot. I have already seen my Titanium fail outright, and Envion stall to a halt because of internal legal issues. I ditched Electroneum because of their pathetic management and I readily acknowledge that some of my others are long-shots and will quite probably also fail.

For me ICOs optimise the high risk/high reward type of assets that I like to invest some of my funds in. I would certainly not recommend holding a mainly new ICO based crypto portfolio! But as a strong proponent of crypto diversification, I think that investing in a carefully selected ICO or two is very good for a crypto investor, even if it only teaches you what not to do next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57405.63
ETH 2867.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54