PSA Possible Mining Hardware Scam!

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! I've never done this before so my apologies if this is lacking in any way. I just thought I'd put this out there in case it helps anyone.

So I just saw an article about a startup coming out with some new plug and play mining rigs. This would be great news but upon further inspection, there seems to be something off with what is being presented. Here's the article I saw, and here's the original press release as far as I can find.

According to the company, they use endothermic technology (a chemical reaction that absorbs heat) to achieve historic hash power with minimal energy usage. This is the spec sheet of the "on2u," their lowest cost unit taken from their website:

onminers.jpg

At only 600w energy consumption, this really would be amazing for the mining community. There's some problems with the company that's offering these new miners however. As I dug for information about the OnMiners startup and the team behind it, the lack of anything substantial was concerning. Here's what I could gather:

  1. Most if not all of the images on the website are stock images from what I can find with their logo photoshopped.
    Example: the office image they used is Norbella's in Boston

  2. No address for the company which is based out of Luxembourg:
    Location
    Rue Glesener, Luxembourg 1631

  3. Entire team is unverifiable and uses stock images.(I'm all for privacy, but someone on there needs to be a real, verifiable person)

  4. They're already offering up hardware out of the blue without any proof of product or testing or anything third-party.

For a startup that supposedly offers revolutionary hardware, there's surprisingly little to no talk about it. There's no information on the company, it's team, investors or partners. There's just a bare-bones website with (frankly amazing) specs about the hardware, and a brief youtube video with the only physical representation of their company that I can find; two guys, who are not on the team list, wearing shirts with the OnMiner logo from February 4, 2019.

I checked the addresses of the Bitcoin, Litecoin, and Ethereum wallets that they offered up for payment purposes and the Bitcoin address seemed to have a single transaction on March 11th which would've theoretically been a purchase. Other than that the only activity was on the Litecoin address from last August. So maybe someone purchased one of these machinces? I'd love to know the results of the purchase!

Please be careful if you're thinking about purchasing anything from OnMiners and DO RESEARCH before hitting that buy button!

I emailed OnMiners and will post an update once I get a response.

Edit: Here's a discussion on the bitcoin.com forum which seems to include a single comment by a newly created account named Gohen claiming, "I am from Luxembourg and i paid them a visit, the company office look allright, i have tested on2u there, yesterday i purchased 2 of them and now i am waiting for them to dispatch.
I will keep you updated ." How'd they know where the office is without an address? If the company let them test one, how come there's no test results anywhere from anyone else? Sigh At least the article I saw on Bitcoinist updated to reflect the scam suspicions!

Thanks for stopping by! Peace & Love.

(Disclaimer: I am not a financial adviser. I just want to make people aware and please remember to always do your own research! I'm also not out to harm any business or entity with this post; please correct me if any of this information is wrong or misleading, and I'd love to hear from the OnMiners team.)

Sort:  

Hello @usecrypto! This is a friendly reminder that you can download Partiko today and start earning Steem easier than ever before!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem. You can login using your Steem account, browse, post, comment and upvote easily on your phone!

You can even earn up to 3,000 Partiko Points per day, and easily convert them into Steem token!

Download Partiko now using the link below to receive 1000 Points as bonus right away!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Dropping by to support you a bit @usecrypto, after noticing you elected to follow me today. Nice work on the detail in this post. Time is pressing for me, but wanted to let you know I thought you did a nice job on putting it together.

All the best to you on your own Steem blockchain "journey!"


P.S. If of interest, I have provided some help for you on another of your posts.

Congratulations @usecrypto! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @usecrypto! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65