You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crypto Trends to Watch in 2018 - What I find most fascinating

Fantastic video and a great way to start 2018. I think the issue of Crypto Leadership Centralisation is definitely worth tracking and I didn't think about it until Charlie Lee offloaded his entire LTC holdings. This caused me to pause my own purchases of LTC as I considered if CL knew something that I didn't know. Certainly, if the CEO of a company that I have shares in, suddenly dumps all his shares, it would sound alarm bells all over the place.

However, after some consideration -- CL did the right thing; yes LTC value dropped but I don't think the coin needs such a centralised figure; not now. Additionally, I buy into the whole decentralised idea of crypto currency and this includes decentralising those in leadership and development positions.

As for Vitalik Buterin; ETH is huge. Ripple may have grabbed the #2 market cap position but ETH forms the core platform of almost all the recent ICOs. It is also one of the prime cryptos that new users get into: and from there through exchanges one can then change their BTC/ETH for a plethora of other cryptos. ETH losing Vitalik will probably hurt more than LTC 'losing' CL; I can see the ETH ecosystem potentially forking and fragmenting. Time to look at Cardano once more.

For me, 2018 will be on privacy coins and the continued rise of Ripple. People will start to figure out that Ripple, while valuable, is 'just' a subway token for the Ripple network. You can't buy anything with it but one cannot deny it's value.

Large well known retailers such as Amazon will make a play for the crypto space. I think they will start off supporting one of the main cryptos but in the background, they'll be trying to develop their own offering and when it comes out; expect it to be huge.

BTC will address their transaction costs and speed issues in 2018 but will find that it's crown as King of the Cryptos to have slipped somewhat.

Looking forward to more videos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84