Ever Wonder Where the Term HODL came from?

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago

If you've ever wondered where the term HODL comes from... Here it is.

I read this again tonight and it made me smile, as it always seems like everyone else is a better trader, knows things I don't know..

I think most of us have felt like this guy at least once...

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=375643.0

image.png

Anyway, after a rough week of crypto and a nasty day across the markets, I thought this might make you smile also...

Oh and by the way, the only think I am not HODLing is Bitcoin SV, sold that on today's pump...

@whatsup

Sort:  

@whatsup,
I stopped HODL all Bitcoin and it's forks! Feeling relax now!

Cheers~

Well I'm crying blood, this is really comforting

Here's some positivity .....from me...positive, can you believe it??? lol

https://steemit.com/blog/@lucylin/here-s-a-thought-some-positive-action-is-needed-on-steemit

LOL, I'd heard the term was born from a typo, but hadn't ever come across the 'source'...whisk(e)y too!

But the point is brilliant and applies here I think....after all, most of us are not dependent on crypto earnings for immediate needs and so really, it could all be a big FUD fuss could it not? How much does a short-term snapshot view even matter in the longer-term?

Why the fear I wonder? Is there a feeling that Steem could really disintegrate - and is that even possible with the user base that we have? Is a global financial implosion of one sort or another not imminent? - and what happens to the value of alternatives like crypto when Fiat becomes near worthless?

I think there's a lot of psychological projection going on. As with all things, appearances are deceptive and the mainstream narrative is a fiction. Fear Uncertainty Doubt at all levels - the manipulation is to keep these energies going strong, regardless of narrative. Who knows what THE REALITY really is, but it is certainly something other than what it's made out to be.

Herein lies the case for my Sunshine optimism @whatsup 🔆

I like you barge.

I think Ned's recent announcement feed the fear. No one is sure what works or not without steemit inc.

We know: He is working on something else, that his heart isn't in the social media side of this and that he appears to be having some sort of financial problems.

If our growth plan was to create SMTs and Market them... Welp, that isn't holding much confidence.

If Ned quit operating SteemIt Inc tomorrow, would the chain move on? No one knows for sure. I think yes, but with a LOT of impact.

Yeah, sounds a bit like growing pains and the trauma of being taken away from the nipple! Ned's also been a bit like an absent parent, distant and secretive. It's a time like this that the platform will find its feet, maybe with a stumble or two, and lose at least the heavy psychological dependence on the Father :). I'm personally not afraid of what's to come, although I've no idea what it'll be. We're not going down, but we've a few corners to round.

And me too Whatsup, warm and reciprocal, ever since you taught me the word 'ded' ;-)

Just came across this 6min vid on TheMarkyMark's post .......shows a very different picture from FUD :)

I always wondered where that came from. Thanks!

Traditions and anecdotes are based on these sort of things that are unforgettable... Thinking about the reality in that nobody can time the market so you can always miss the wave up as well!

Posted using Partiko iOS

HODL is something invented by the Crytpo peeps. I have been a Trader and Investor for nearly 20 years in Stock Market and never heard of such a thing. And I refuse to use it. Most legit Equity Traders wouldn't use it either.

Its either Buy, Hold, or Sell :P lol

yeah, that is why I love crypto. I think it is cute and the way it came about is above. In 2013. I consider it to be part of the Pop culture of crypto.

I left the corporate world tired of the stuffed suit types...

But the internet trolls can be hard to deal with too! :)

I remember that story and it's weird how some stupid things stick. I still hold though and don't speak the lingo.

It was good to read... I like this text what was on the link :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95