Python Script for Rating Crypto Exchanges for Security

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)




I listened with intent to Chris Coney (CryptoVerse, @marketingmonk) excellent coverage of a new Security Rating's report that has come out, as reported by news.bitcoin.com

This brings me back to when I first started in crypto. I was very hesitant to put my money on the exchanges, but I also like money. I wanted so badly to trade, and I can't do trading unless I put my money or crypto on the exchanges, so I needed a way to feel more comfortable. So I, too, did my own security roundup and came up with a "ratings" of sorts.

To me, exchanges needed to be secure. Secure like, say, a castle. Like this one:



I'm a coder, so I write scripts.

This particular script happened to be written in "Python."

PersonQuote
Cryptokeeper:What...is your name?
Binance:Sir Binance of Camelot.
Cryptokeeper:What...is your quest?
Binance:To displace the UnHoly FIAT.
Cryptokeeper:What...is your favorite color?
Binance:Blue.
Cryptokeeper:Right, off you go.

The next one who came up was a little too sure of himself. I had already tested everyone's social engineering, network defenses, DDOS vulnerabilities, and even whether or not they let the user show API secrets easily or not. Is their multi-factor authentication up to snuff? Are they on top of wide-spread trading anomalies? Let's see...

PersonQuote
Cryptokeeper:What...is your name?
Huobi:Huobi of Camelot.
Cryptokeeper:What...is your quest?
Huobi:I seek the displacement!
Cryptokeeper:What...is the capital of Malta?
Huobi:(indignant) I don't know THAT!! (An unseen force whisks him up and over the side.) AAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGHHH!!!!!!!

This continued for a while, as I interviewed those who knew their bitcoins from their bitconnects and their security from their security tokens. If they didn't know the difference between a token and a coin, I chucked them out.

PersonQuote
Cryptokeeper:What...is your name?
Coinbase:King Coinbase of the Adopticons!
Cryptokeeper:What...is your quest?
Coinbase:I seek the bridging of Holy Blockchain and FIAT!
Cryptokeeper:What...number of bits is the checksum of a bitcoin public key?
Coinbase:(brief pause) What do you mean, an Base58 checksum or Base64 checksum?
Cryptokeeper:(confused) Well...I don't know...AAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGHHHH!!!
Thomas Lee:(crossing behind Coinbase) How do you know so much about checksums, sire?
Coinbase:Well, you have to know these sorts of things when you're a king, you know... (footnote 1)

I eventually was able to judge which exchanges were safe enough for me to trade on.

(Footnote 1) Besides, the answer is the same either way - and it's measured in bytes, not bits, but I just wanted to show him who was King.

Sort:  

Congratulations @yes2crypto! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @yes2crypto! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @yes2crypto! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

If you want to sell this file for Bitcoins, use https://SatoshiDisk.com/
Don't need to create account or pass KYC. Upload, Share, Profit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55