You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Econ 101

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago

I've found that it is much more effective to use a Standing Liberty Quarters or even Morgan Silver Dollars for discussions.

The US Founders did not want pictures of political leaders on the coinage. The first coins by the mint had pictures of Lady Liberty and eagles.

The decision to adorn coins with faces of dead presidents was part of the deviation from the ideals of an honest currency held by the founders.

Sort:  

You know, this is the only "junk" coin I own, I'm a bullion man. The Morgan has 24 grams of ag, what an odd number. I just checked and that is exactly the constitutional definition of the dollar when converted to "grains". Very interesting. Your point is well taken. Thanks. Next time I visit the shop I'll look into it, hopefully the premiums aren't too high.

The site coinflation.com shows the melt values of different coins. The copper in a 1982 penny is worth more two pennies. You can double your money by collecting copper pennies.

If you like talking economics with coins; you should have both some quarters and a silver dollar. The weight of four quarters is only about 90% of the weight (I forget the exact amount). This is because of a coinage act in the 1800s.

I looked at your SteemD account. You have only one post left and you will crash and burn.

https://steemd.com/@cryptocleanse

When you run out of resources, you have to wait until your RC regenerates.

Hmm, but you have four pages of activity, making me think you know a little bit more about this service than the single post in your profile indicates.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64107.62
ETH 3101.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12