Mathematics And A Crisis Of Non-Faith

in #cryptogee-musings6 years ago (edited)

Faith kneel.png

Oh no, I knew I shouldn't have opened this can of worms, this Pandora's box, because now that it is open, it cannot be shut. Once the contents are glimpsed, even for a split second of a split second, it is too late, I cannot unlearn what I have come to know.

My non-faith has been rocked to its very foundations, and now I may have to reevaluate everything I thought I knew, there is a war raging on in my head at the moment, and the stakes are high, so high the outcome could change me forever!

Seeing Is Believing

Some of you yesterday may have read my Is Math Real? article. In that post, I explored the philosophical question of whether mathematics is real or not. The question arises because there is no physical manifestation of maths in the universe, in the same way that there are of physics, chemistry, and biology.

Gravitational waves are not just theory, even before they were detected we knew we were going to discover them.

However there is no physical evidence of the number 7, Thermat's theorem or pi. You are now standing at the mouth of the cave with me, you can turn back now, save yourself! No? OK, let's continue.

You see, I do not adhere to having faith in anything, whilst I don't mind you; and will never try to stop you or anyone having religious faith, I myself do not see faith as a useful tool.

Faith or belief is something that is expressed when we don't have any supporting evidence. This is not the way I'm wired, I like logic, evidence, and critical thinking, and I believe mathematics is real, even though I can't see its effects.

Edge Of Discovery

Pretty much every Sunday I get religious people at my door, I usually politely turn them away after thanking them for their concern regarding my non-existent eternal soul. However, now and again one persists, and tells me they won't be offended regardless of what questions or statements I may utter.

Two things occur when this happens, the first is that they come back with the phrase "Well you believe in science, it's no different to that."

After which, I give them a detailed breakdown of how I don't believe in science, I simply trust the scientific method to deliver a close approximation of the truth, based on a continual feedback loop of cause, effect and evidence.

The second thing that usually happens, is that they walk away with a despondent, why-am-I-doing-this-on-a-Sunday-morning type look on their faces.

There is nothing meaner than a man who would destroy another man's faith.

Bishop of New York, in response to Albert Einstein's answer to the question; is there a god?

Caught Between Faith And A Hard Place

OK, so let's get to the point now, you know that I'm a deeply logical human being, and that I reject the notion of believing in anything without some kind of indication that it's true; so what's the problem?

Well the problem is this; I believe in mathematics even though there is no physical manifestation of it in the universe.

This is because there seem to be objective values in mathematics that stay the same regardless of your belief in them or not.

However this also means that just like physics and the other scientific disciplines, that there will be a myriad of discoveries as we progress as a society.

MASSIVE RECORD SCRATCH!

Ah, wait, so what am I basing that belief on?

If you ask me for physics, I will say, well, looking back at certain studies and theories, of course I can say that we will discover new things in the area of physics, chemistry, and biology.

However there is no evidence that there will be any new mathematical theories.

Aha! I say to myself; if you are sure that there are going to be new discoveries in physics, then that just goes to show that there will be new discoveries in mathematics used to describe the new physical phenomenon.

Hmm, whispers the Devil's Advocate, that may be the case, however I can't say with any accuracy that the mathematics of today, won't be enough to cover those new physics discoveries.

BUT . . .

I still believe that there will be new mathematical discoveries. However I'm basing that belief on nothing other than blind faith!

Uh-oh, I'm in danger of believing in something . . .

Conundrum

So I am stuck with two possible outcomes:

a) I mathematics to be real, it has very real non-arbitrary values which all observers in the universe can agree on.

In which case, just like other disciplines, there are unmade discoveries. However unlike other sciences, there is no present indication that there will be any more discoveries, and so therefore I must base any belief on faith.

b) I reject mathematics to be real, and admit that it is just a useful construct of the human mind, in which case any future discoveries are only limited by our own imaginations.

Unfortunately I can't subscribe to the second because there's evidence to the contrary, and it would mean there are no mathematical objective truths. However I can't adhere to the first because there is no evidence to back up my claims.

I DON'T WANT TO BELIEVE, HELP! HOW SHOULD I DEAL WITH MY CRISIS OF NON-FAITH, I NEED TO STOP BELIEVING, HELP ME PLEASE! AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW :-)

Cryptogee

Sort:  

@cryptogee,

Cryptogee, I'm going to do a post on this one as well. (You do know how to provoke them, don't you?) BTW, I'm still waiting for your response to my last post, in reply to yours ... I go to a lot of trouble to clean up your act ... I expect some retaliatory verbosity! :-)

https://steemit.com/artificialintellegence/@quillfire/ai-and-humans-if-it-s-broke-don-t-fix-it

The truth is the only way to stop believing is by taking a step further to find the answers to scientific and even religious postulations. You cant just belief in things the way they are presented. Search, ask questions, find answers and bet you would have done away with the problem of believing. Nice post! Ive upvoted this post

When you speak about faith, you mix mathematics and convictions or religion on the other hand I think if you believe in math you're doing it wrong.

Seriously, are people allergic to the word "understand"?

All science is based on method and evidence.

A scientific claim, and mathematics claims are included, inherently contains rules explaining how it came about to be proven, and subsequently - based on evidence - how it might be refuted.

Faith... well... Does not.

I am (kind of) joking when I wrote this article, plus I often like to argue the side that I don't believe in, just to see what answers I get.

The fact is, you cannot see physical effects of mathematics on the world, therefore mathematics tends not to make predictions about the future, in the same way the other sciences do. Technically there is no way to verify that there will be mathematical discovery in the future, ergo if I believe that there will be, then I'm basing that belief on faith, and not evidence.

Like I said though, I don't genuinely believe that, I just like to put the Devil's Advocate argument forward, because challenging what I know on a daily basis, is exciting and refreshing to me :-)

Cg

Okay..For the next time I must be more aware of that .. nice way to provoke us to answer your (thoughts) :p

super fun follow-up to your last post and I for one enjoy your slightly tongue in cheek trains of thought whichever side you are arguing since I enjoy the way you think.

This is a complicated matter. I think you have exceeded far from your creativity. Be positive and easy... don't hasite I think we can share with my friend and travel in natural beauty place for refreshment.

Amazing post

Good information

Good to have faith in God

No, good to base beliefs on empirical evidence.

Cg

Yeah sometimewe reget all the theories
And the behaviour you own is shows is your best quality
Nice job you done here... God bless you dear

Well, believe is a misused word.

You believe the universe is real, and so therefor, to you, it is.

This statement is a fact, and I suggest you never ever ask for me to prove it. Because you think the above is a pandora's box, well its nothing in comparison.

But, lets continue your discussion about mathematics.
Space and time are constructs. Rulers if you will.
Mathematics is similarly a ruler.
Measuring an object has no real meaning to the object, it is just for our edification and provides us "numbers" to compare one object to another.

Now, our current mathematics is based on straight lines.
The universe has no straight lines. So, we will find that our ruler is not very good at measuring universal things. We will come up with "circular geometry" soon. It is necessary for actually flying in space and describing the shape of the earth.

There you go, one way that mathematics is going to change in the future.

Funny, I have had math guys tell me ONLY math is real - physics and chem are just constructs or manifestations of math. I lump it all together as tools of science and say - it works- so it IS real.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66