You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seven Reasons Why Brexit Won't Happen

in #cryptogee-musings6 years ago

At first I was sure that brexit would go through, but now I'm starting to feel more unsure. The main thing for me is that it makes a mockery of our political system if we have another vote because if we have another vote and it still goes in favor of brexit what will we do then? Have another vote until we decide to remain.

I think the whole situation highlights how little people, including me, understand about the complexity of politics, and how the government are a lot more out of touch with the public than they like to admit.

As talks continue to happen people are seeming to be done with brexit, everyone has had enough so I think if for whatever reason if brexit was stopped in its tracks people would stop talking about it.

To me it feels like everyone is holding their breath waiting for some to definitively make a decision either way, and if a decision is made I think most people will have a sigh of relief knowing if it is or isn't going through.

Sort:  

if we have another vote and it still goes in favor of brexit what will we do then? Have another vote until we decide to remain.

No, have another vote until there is a clear 75% majority.

I think the whole situation highlights how little people, including me, understand about the complexity of politics

Exactly, because the referendum should have been something along the lines of 'should we adopt article X over Y regarding trade and immigration laws' and many other such difficult questions. If that had been the case, most people wouldn't have voted, because they would have realised that these are issues for people who were elected to make those decisions in the first place.

As talks continue to happen people are seeming to be done with brexit, everyone has had enough so I think if for whatever reason if brexit was stopped in its tracks people would stop talking about it.

Yup, I get that feeling too :-)

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62914.22
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88