My Cryptokitty Venture Thus Far

They are an interesting little "pet" for certain.


I have not spent a lot of 💲on them. Actually, I have not spent any. My husband gifted me a couple kitties. 😻 He spent money to set up the wallet and put enough ethereum in there to make me eligible to win one, and for me to buy an inexpensive breeding pair.

It costs a little to breed them, 💲 every time. I wound up putting 5 SD into the kitty wallet. I wanted to play with the breeding a bit, stockpile some kitties! 😺😺😺 Then I tried to sell one. It costs ethereum to put kitties up for auction. 💲Mine was almost down to zero when I took it off the market, that cost me also.💲

I saw people doing kitties giveaways and their posts were doing well. 💰 I tried giving a kitty away. My post did not do well. I only got two entries, so I gave them both a kitty. They were kitties I had bred; virgins, generation 3 with swift recovery, so not bad kitties. It cost me ethereum to give them to the winners. 💲 With what I made on the posts announcing, reminding and naming winners, I probably came out about even.

At one point, I decided to go for a rare trait.💲 Hintomint was my pick. Since then, several new traits have been introduced. The instant a new trait comes out, people snap them up then breed them until they are no longer very rare. I have watched "alien" go from a very rare trait to a increasingly common one. It is sort of funny, my rather blah looking hintomints are now more rare than aliens. The most striking "rare" features get bred into ordinary-ness the fastest.

(My rarest kitty)

I still will HODL my cryptokitties. There is something appealing about them, even simply as a novelty. I can't really say I have found them to be a great investment, but I have only had them since around Christmas so this is a very short term overview. I would be curious if anyone with more experience can tell me what I am doing wrong or if I am missing something, but at this point I can't really call this a great investment.💸 Cute, interesting, and more time will tell. For now, my time and effort on steemit is far more satisfying and rewarding.
💲teem on!

Sort:  

The kitties look a little derpy. Have you been inbreeding your cryptokitties? :)

Lol! They actually will not let you. And the derpier they look the better, apparently!

I found out about this whole kitty craze, the week that the entire Eth blockchain grinded to a screeching halt. I went on to the auction site and tried to buy one, but my transaction wouldn't process. I gave up. lol Interesting project though.

They seem to be a lot like new cars... worth one tenth what you paid the instant you own them.

I have seen talk of these crypto Kitties thing but never rally looked into them seems they cost money whatever you do with them, but then I guess some are also making money, its a strange world we live in LOL

Here is the sad truth of being me... I had to sing "I Want A Hippopotamus For Christmas" as part of our little local choir. The cryptokitties came out, I got "I Want A Cryptokittycat For Christmas" stuck in my head so I wrote a silly song. My poor husband realized IMMEDIATELY that if he did not buy me a couple kitties he would look like a jerk on steemmit and so got about getting me a couple. LOL! I have won a couple and bought a couple, but I am not deeply invested. Just enough to be interesting, not enough to really care!

Lol now I will have that song in my head lol

I still dont know what these are.

Crypto pet rocks, I suspect... :)

Looks interesting I just don't think I'll put any money into it thought.

I've seen a few people write about them. They either have had good luck or not so much.

It really is not shocking people breed things till it is no longer worthwhile. Perhaps holding them in long term will bring its own kind of value as things get more and more expensive.

Have fun and good luck breeding!

Thanks! I am not even breeding them at this point. I have two hintomints and they are holding their rarity pretty well, I am NOT going to be the one to screw that up lol!

LOL! What next? Too funny 😂 Good luck wuth your crypto kitties!!! I hear they are alergy free!!!! ....squeeeek! Gettem crypto kitty 🐁

Lol! Good point, I have had no cryptomouse problems!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64453.46
ETH 2971.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59