You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Contemporizing the Traditional Korean Ceremony, Pyebaek/폐백

in #culture7 years ago

I don't know either why that represent offsprings, especially sons. Someone told me it's because pronunciation of jujubes and son in Chinese is very similar, but not sure if it's true. ;)

I don't think it's a skirt they're suspending to catch chestnuts. It's called 활옷 and, well.. You could say it's a kind of coat or something, because the bride wears 저고리 and skirt inside. Then she wears 활옷 over the skirt and 저고리.

Sort:  

Oh I didn't realize that! Multiple sources alluded to it being attached to the wardrobe like an incorporated apron or
something so I wasn't sure what to call it. 감사합니다 브리님~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89