'Culture' in different countries

in #culture5 years ago


I ran into this parade in the weekend in centrum Lucerne. Dudes of all ages marching the streets in specific clothing and walking with super big cowbells. I had no clue what this was, and it kind of looked like a cult to me. I had to ask at my work what this was, and this is a common type of parade in the towns around here called ‘Trichlä’. As my colleague said: This always occurs around 5 December (AKA Sinterklaas time), and when it is not parade time, it is just a good excuse to get together and have a drink together.


Every country has their own cultural habits coming from all kinds of different traditions and stories. The US has slaughtered a whole army of turkeys last week, on the island of Sint Martin every spare penny saved was always spent in carnival that will last a staggering 40 years in 2019 (while still having no roof but sleeping under a tarpaulin, BUT money will be spent at carnival), and Holland is still HODLing to their Black Pete discussion with the Sinterklaas fest.


With not too much going back and forth on if I agree with this Black Pete tradition or not, what I DID see previous weekend in the city of Eindhoven were the remnants of riots of pro and con supporters of this discussion. Anti Black Pete supporters ( who find the tradition racist and would love to see Black Petes in a different color) were peacefully and silently demonstrating, while Pro Black Pete supporters ( who find Black Pete culture and therefore the tradition should not be changed) where utterly acting on powerplay and chanting full on racist songs, cornering women and throwing eggs. All of this happened with childrens festivities on 500 meters distance.


Here some images of Eindhovens finest





To me it is unbelievable how the whole concept of a children's tradition got so lost in the debate, and people are acting like total savages with kids right there with them. I find myself being embarrassed a LOT for the people around me and wonder where the world is coming to on certain days.


And all of this because I saw some dude walking with cowbells.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

I felt deep shame to be Dutch.

Same thing
And I was also looking if I saw familiar faces there so I could instantly de-friend then

same for me when I see this videos from my country coming by...😥

On the other hand I'm still happy with the December traditions we still have, here at my village. We have a Sint and Pete decorate your house competition (for the kids and parents together), we have a walk with the kids during the evening with lantarns, a special event for the kids where they can sing, play, craft a surprise, learn to write a poem etc. This black Pete discussion running out of control is more in the cities I think. We discuss it here too but not with giant demonstrations. The kids come first!

As it should be!!

I guess in every situation is that the towns are a bit more gemühtlich on these kinds of things. (okay lets be honest..in zeeland for sure :D)

no for real, i guess it is less of a discussion in the towns because there are most likely less people who are very anti

Bottomline: adults should be ashamed of themselves and I had hoped that this discussion had ended already now over the years

Every year I hope that this discussion is finished but it gets more pathetic every year it seems

Not it seems it does and more of the betutteling dat je echt schaamd om een nl se te zijn

Hi @karinxxl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.278 which ranks you at #2625 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 271 contributions, your post is ranked at #126.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Terry Pratchett had some pertinent quotes about mobs:

"... the intelligence of that creature known as a crowd is the square root of the number of people in it."

"... the IQ of a mob is the IQ of its most stupid member divided by the number of mobsters ..."

I think that in the past few years most of us have come to feel shame in the mobs of our countries for one reason or another. I wouldn't even mention some of the things happening in IL right now.

All I can say is to be strong, hope the insanity passes and where applicable, educate and explain things calmly to individuals.

I don't think mobs can be reasoned with but people might be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03